My first time mountain biking!

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

07E8FAE4-9B80-4A3A-B4C9-ABEF9E46AA4F.jpeg

This weekend I went mountain biking for the first time! I had plans to meet with a friend and ride some trails a few miles away, but ended up riding solo in Knoxville. I had a great time!

"The very basic core of a man's living spirit is his passion for adventure." - Christopher McCandless

I managed to land a position at an outdoor retailer shortly after Amelia and I moved to East Tennessee. Working for this Co-op has only grown our love for the outdoors. Between working on the bus/home and working 'jobs' fund the project, its challenging to find the time to make it to any destination. So, we keep the activities to short hikes and (mostly) indoor activities.

Somestimes you just have to make the time...

This past Saturday Amelia had a girls day planned paddling, and fortunately I was able to throw together a plan to hit the trails for the first time! Regardless of impending scattered showers we were both determined to make time for ourselves - and do it outside. Upon finding out I wouldnt be driving a few hours to meet a friend, I decided to more deeply explore what our local parks have to offer. Ijams Nature Preserve was my first destination.

DBBF48C0-C4DE-47A5-8E4F-9B302B1D8D37.jpeg
Trail opens to ramp @ Ijams - South Loop Trail

I managed to not get rained on for the entirety of the 13mi (~21km) South Loop. It was fairly dry, but thick and goopy in most of the low areas. From what I hear a lot of the trails we have in TN are single-track - this was no different. Trails opened for various obstacles, but never wider than above picture (unless connecting larger sections of trail).

2E14CCF9-A9FF-46E7-A914-53CFBDF2E30B.jpeg
Ghost Kato FS3

I am grateful to have this bike for the weekend. Its pretty bad ass... full suspension, disc brakes, tubeless tires, and other various upgrades. Comment below if you're curious about the nerd stuff - I'm into that. Its hard to describe the value of being able to take this out vs one of my own bikes, or one on my current budget. Its like off-roading in a Civic vs a Jeep...One's getting home with all it's parts, lol. Honestly, after working with these bikes everyday for the past year, its great to finally see what they're capable of. I'm copetent on two wheels, but I learned my fair share of the rules of the trail (maybe).

Next destination...

After completing the South Loop at Ijams, I was off check out Baker Creek Preserve. This place comes highly recommended by some of my coworkers, and right in town being part of the Knoxville Urban Wilderness. I drove thru a mighty micro strom on the short drive there, but nothing was stopping me from continuing my day of adventure (no matter how many bruises I had already accumulated).

56F81C13-9103-4DE1-815F-8DABF6EAB184.jpeg
Tang portrait

“If it ain’t muddy, you ain’t usin’ it right,"

the kind officer smiles and says to me having witnessed me wearing the results of my (very) short-lived ride. I should have known that the storm had destroyed anything left ridable, but I took my chances. Worth it.

If anyone is curious about what I brought with me on my first day, check out the list below:

  • Giro Fixture Mips Helmet
  • Native Sanitas Sunglasses
  • Fox Gel Gloves
  • REI Co-op Cylcling Shorts
  • REI Co-op Cycling Jersey
  • Altra Lone Peak Trail Running Shoes
  • 3/4 Length Smart Wool Socks
  • REI Co-op Staff Flash 22


    Inside Pack:
  • Oprey 2L Hydraulics hydration bladder
  • Arc'teryx Alpha FL Hardshell Jacket
  • Cotton T-shirt
  • Honey Stinger Waffles (Variety of flavors)
  • Tanka Bites

3ED2B8B1-988D-458B-8CAE-0DFDBC436E14.jpeg

316AD218-E49F-4609-8D68-959010B5A34A.jpeg
Staff Flash pack

Well, I'm sore but already for the next adventure!

If its biking, I'll be improving my skills on the Haw Ridge Trails!

If its photography, I'm experimenting with ORWO NP7!

And, If its climbing, you can catch me at the Obed!

Sort:  

No messing, I need that Bike in my life - it's amazing! My god, I never realised Mountain Bikes had evolved so much the frame is stunning, suspension system especially rear looks very well thought out - gearing just beautiful - what an amazing piece of equipment.

Love the Muddy but happy shot at the end, just shows you had a great time and made the most of the terrain.

Superb post, start to finish engaging I loved the photo of the trail leading into the ramp - this deserves a great deal more visibility then it has had so far.

Thank you for joining in and sharing your #SublimeSunday - a superb day out and I really enjoyed it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.33$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

It seems you are happy with the mess you put on yourself. :-)
BTW, I think there's a typo (somewhere in this line should be brought with me):
If anyone is curious about what I brought with my on my first day, check out the list below:

I truly had an amazing time. There’s nothing like a test of skill, endurance, and guts on a day off! Btw thanks for the edit 👌

You're welcome

Congratulations @hobotang! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70