Advises that have deeply impacted yourlife

in #advise5 years ago

Hi steemians,

You will probably have receive a tip or piece of advise that was mind blowing, transformed your life or improved your career path or life. In any case I would like you to come and gave everyone that might eventually read this even future generations a safe place to read them.

I was given a great advised once and it really ramp up my professional career in the most interesting way.
I was around 21 years old and I was trying to find a place where to do my graduation project as a key project to be able to graduate. Most of the students in my class were already signing contracts in major companies and top brands which made a bit nervous. Some of them were even hired right away and started to received some salary. It could be that most of them were already earning something or I was paying way too much attention to what they were now achieving and the fear to fall behind that pushed to pursue some of the stuff they were already receiving.

I kept on looking for places but then I had the word benefits, amount of money and even technologies to develop but I was not paying attention to how I was preparing to get interviewed or which things were important to my career growth besides money, in fact now I consider it to be a reward of your previous growth rather than your right to earn.

I was then interviewed by a small company that was innovating in open source technology, using Joomla which seemed to be a big deal at the time and using technologies I was interested but It was the truly the beginning of my professional growth. The owner of the company asked me:

What are you expecting from this job? What do you want to ear and can you do? Literally show me.

I was really paralyzed and then I thought I was like asking a genie what I wanted. Today I believe I received more. I asked I wanted this amount of money and I also want a flexible schedule and I want to get certifications and I also want to blah blah.. you know how it goes. But after hearing for a while and then he asked me:

Do you know how much is that developer earning? Pointed out a very experienced developer (from I could get from his stickers, books and look) and then he told me:

You should learn first and then think of money

That was the piece of advise that really got me started in improving my professional growth and formed most of my career path. I was not hired but this is the few times that I really did bad in an interview and then walk away with a smiley in my face. I believe that day he gave me more that he could've with a job offer. I still remember how terribly I felt and how good I felt when he said that.

Sort:  

Hi @raserrano. I enjoyed your story. That was great advice. I personally believe that when we worry too much about money we enter a scarcity mindset (fear). When we focus on what we can do, we empower ourselves by becoming aware of our own potential (everything we CAN do). This shifts us into an abundance mindset. Our mindset impacts how we see the world, and the decisions we make as a consequence. So, in short, our mindset changes everything. I have, and will continue to learn for the rest of my life because quite simply, in my experience it has been one of the most empowering endeavors in my life. Learning has brought me tremendous opportunity, not to mention I enjoy it tremendously. I am a strong believer that it is important to exercise our minds in the same we we must exercise our bodies. It's a win win situation!

Thank you very much for stopping by and reading my post, I really appreciate your insights and I hope you will find some other posts interesting as well. I do believe that mind has to be exercise as well as body so I'm with you on that. Mindset is key and that is also why I'm been exploring different new hobbies and activities that can make the journey a bit more pleasant so stay tuned so other posts might caught your attention too.

It's so important to do the things you enjoy in life. It's great you are making the time to do that. I keep my life very simple, and because I do that, I am able to make time for the things that matter most to me. This greatly impacts not only the depth of my experience of life, but also the quality of my life which leads directly to happiness. Yes, it looks like we have some common interests. Let's keep in touch and share our thoughts.

Sure thing I really like your way of thinking and how you are living. Thanks for sharing!

Hi @raserrano!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.982 which ranks you at #3602 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 3608).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 194 contributions, your post is ranked at #168.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85