Where Have We Gone Wrong?

in #africa6 years ago

There are times that my brain becomes tired of thinking about my country and the only question I keep asking myself is “where have we gone wrong”?
I thought I saw potentials and greatness in the future. I thought my generation will be different. I thought the ever increasing literacy rate means CHANGE. I thought I have heard patriotic citizens spoke at various platforms to delight my heart? So, “where have we gone wrong?”
To the extent that, I woke up one day just to realize that nothing has changed at all. Our generation has been manipulated with ill political and religious propaganda. Our graduates and students pursuing higher degrees still uphold the ill propagandas. One would have thought that, they will be advocate of change. Even our student politics is nothing to write home about.
Sometimes I wonder the kind of legacy and history we seek to leave behind. I keep asking myself whether or not we can get just one person who never thinks about “me, myself and I”. I can hardly fathom why we waste valuable resources going to school, only to come out and repeat the mistakes and ills sometimes worse than what people who couldn’t get the opportunity to liberate their mind. WE ARE DISGRACE TO EDUCATION.
I can hardly understand why understand why we foolishly crave for powers and positions we know very well we can’t handle. It is very disheartening and sad that after shedding enough blood in the 19th and 20th century to ensure democracy and rule of law, we are stupidly riding comfortably to the old ways.
Must we do this to ourselves? Making unnecessary political and ethnic affiliations override our judgments. What use is our education and exposure then?
This country needs dedicated individual, selfless individuals and thinking individuals. ENOUGH OF THE POLITICAL STUPIDITY. Let us stop retarding and move this country forward.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ben-mark! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28