WHEN HOME IS A PLACE OF DREAMS

in #africa5 years ago

IMG_2898.JPG

While cities hold all the conveniences of the modern age there is an allure about the country that draws many people. City living is certainly attractive. It can be summed up by words like "instant", "opportunity", "technology", "fast". But life in the country holds an irresistable appeal. Perhaps it is because so many of us are returning to the authentic way of living. There is a power in living off the land. In healing yourself naturally. In raising your children in the wide open spaces. In being in touch, once again, with Creation. Many of us are being empowered by self-sufficiency, wind and sun energy, homegrown and homemade products, biodiversity. Most of my friends are of the same mind set. One of my closest is half an hours drive from me. The only difference is, that while the wild life sharing our valley are mostly predators hers are the magnificent herbivores, like the graceful giraffe, zebra and springbok.

Beloved's bush.10.JPG

Although we live in neighbouring valleys there is a tranquil gorge to drive through between us. When we used to have our annual winter rain the gorge would flood and we'd be cut off from one another. This river bed has been dry for a number of years now. There must still be a fair amount of underground water which the thorn trees are tapping into as the vegetation on the river course are still green.

IMG_2903.JPG

The drive to her house is really beautiful. In winter I get a clear view of the snow capped mountains. The neighbours indigenous iNguni cattle wander the countryside. It is seldom that I drive that stretch without seeing the majestic birds of prey or the happily grazing little buck. The sign marking her entrance; Karelskloof also promises a sighting of some wild life.

IMG_2893.JPG

The greater area where my friend and I live is an undeclared Game Reserve. Most of the land is farmed but not commerically. This means that cattle and sheep or goats roam freelily on the mountainside. You see very little human activity and only an occasional patch of green where mixed pasture has been planted to sustain the animals during the drier seasons. It is a hard life because waters are deep and the soil is shale. But generations of families have lived and farmed here.

IMG_2891.JPG

While country living is definitely not for everyone I think that most will appreciate a slow drive through such tranquil countryside. I am so grateful that there are still virtually untouched parts of the world where one can escape too. I am also grateful that so many of my friends are of the same mindset and that visits to each other. And for this slow and peaceful life I am prepared to live with slow internet and no cell reception.

IMG_2899.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Great post. Country living is the life for me!!!

Looks wonderful....I hope that the good Lord will allow me to move out of the city soon! I need more space!

May it be according to His perfect plan @simms50

Howdy tonight buckaroo! oh what wonderful areas of wilderness and beauty! I'm thankful you are there so we get to share in God's amazing handiwork through your photos.

His handiwork is breathtaking! Thank you for the compliment @janton

Beautiful.. the giraffes! Wow. I can't even imagine what it's like to see them ambling by. The landscape reminds me of inland Australia. You write so well, @buckaroo. X

Posted using Partiko Android

Giraffe are my favourite. I never get over the awe of seeing the wild life ambling by @riverflows!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14