My Memories Growing up.... (A Real Life Story Of Being An African Child)

in #africa6 years ago

image.png

One Sunday morning, when I was 15 years old. My dad and my other siblings went on a vacation and I was left at home with my mom.

To surprise my mom and to make my dad praise me for a work well done when they return, I decided to clean the house.

To mop the house, I got our plastic bucket, meanwhile my mom was still in her room. Put some detergent and water and heading towards the living room.

Suddenly the bucket slipped off my hand and broke. It has broken. I felt bad. I was very sad. I was disappointed because I could'nt fulfil my intension of making my mom say ‘’that’s my good boy", which always makes me feel motivated.

I dried the water and reported to my mom about what happened. When she saw the broken bucket, I was still trying to explain to her how it happened, the next thing was she got a whip and gave me the beating of my life.

I cried and I was bitter within.

Did my mom see that I was trying to be a good boy? Did my mom realise that I was doing that without anyone’s instruction?

Ah! This is a woman I was trying to make impress. I went to our room, locked the door and wept. As I cried, I swore that I will leave that house and never come back.

As I grew older, the experience of what happened never depart from me even in my adult age.

This is the experience of other African children. Majority of our African parents due to impatience, transferred aggression and poverty “murder” the potentials in us.

They whip out the problem solving potentials in their children. It will take the child weeks to think out how to construct a toy car, as the child is about to start the car construction, the father or the mother would format the child’s brain with whipping,

"is it the expensive firewood that I bought that you are cutting, have you washed all the plates in this house it's now car you want to build, car builder, do you know how much firewood costs and do you expect me to cook the food you and your brothers will eat with my hair?"

Every statement is accompanied with a whip. This inhibits the thinking ability in the child. It leaves the child with anger and bitterness as in my case.

There is no support for African children to be adventurous.

The genius in African children is mocked.

The innovation potential in African children is killed when we are still trying to start.

The environment is judgemental.

We African children are faced with many challenge hindering us from maximising our ingenuity, and yet when we try to make a step to utilise it, we are also scolded by our parents.

Although i might be unruly, but my parents forgot to know the difference between when i am causing problem and being innovative.

They forgot to encourage me to be brave to face any challenge.

They forgot to nurture the ingenuity in me.

They forgot that from my mistakes, i could learn my lesson.

I wish every African parents out there would know the difference between correction of mistakes and killing of ingenuity!

A dream suppressed in a child may never rise again.



Note; This is just a personal experience, however this is not to generalize that african parents are not supportive to their kids.



THANKS FOR STOPPING BY...!

Please continue to surport @surpassinggoogle and @steemgig

Vote @steemgigs as a witness. Visit http://steemit.com/~witnesses and input @steemgigs

Sort:  

There are also some places in the PH where you can see the things you have mentioned and prolly all over the world. I am still glad to see you're doing great, brother!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27