AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST: Why I Stopped Attending Tutorials

in #air-clinic6 years ago

It was my first year in the University, and I was already tired of school.

Yes, I was finally going to begin my journey towards a medical profession, but here I was tired, annoyed, hungry and sweaty.

First year has to be the worst year in school, as that is the time the suffering is highest. You get packed with about a million other students, some with mouth odours, some with body odours, and others with odours oozing from parts I can’t or don’t want to fathom.

While we await the lecturer, some senior colleagues give us tutorials. Looking back now, I don’t see the usefulness of those trying periods, because each tutorial somehow left me some nairas poorer. I either have to buy a booklet of past questions, or I pay for something else I can’t remember now.

So there we were packed like sardines, looking at this albino tutor with his dancing eyes proving more interesting than the calculus he tries to explain, as he was telling us things we forget almost the same instant. The afternoon sun did not make a good atmosphere for learning.

There I was, standing at a corner with my mind screaming, “Go home!” and my legs screaming, “Sit down!” and my tummy screaming, “Get some food!”

But I ignored all the screams, telling myself I must understand what was being taught. Well, I learnt my lesson.

As I struggled to silence the screaming in my head, a student by my side yawned, rendering some bacteria homeless and… I fainted.

123136.jpg
Free Clipart from ClipArt Library

Rewind...

The first sign of what was about to happen was a ringing sound coming from somewhere behind my ears, then my view suddenly turning bright, so bright it blinded me, and then there was a blackout, all within nanoseconds.


When I woke up, the first thing I saw was the tutor’s eyes, they were more erratic, so much that I feared they’d fall out.

Apparently the mouth odour had been the last straw for my already tired brain, causing a shutdown.

That was the last time I attended a tutorial.

(348 Words)


This story was inspired by a contest hosted by @air-clinic. You can join the Discord Server to learn more about what they do.


Djoi Writes

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Djoi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34