AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST: Down With A Cough

in #air-clinic6 years ago

cough.jpg
Image Source: Pixabay

This contest is quite timely because I am down with a cough. I am a dialysis patient for almost 2 years now and I never had a cough since I got diagnosed, until now. I cannot tell you enough how afraid I am and paranoid about this. I know for a fact that pneumonia can easily get to us dialysis patients. In fact it's one of the illnesses that ends a dialysis patient's life in a number of global researches and statistics.

I've had a pneumonia vaccine but still I feel so paranoid because having another illness, even just colds, it causes our CKD (chronic kidney disease) symptoms to flare up. We have a very weak immune system since it's already immuno-compromised. It makes one thing lead to another and if you are not so conscious and you don't take good care of yourself then you will have it bad.

This cough started 2 days ago, when I went to a salon for a haircut. I had to wait on queue and after a few minutes, I realized I could not stand the smell of the place. It was very pungent like a mix of chemicals in the air. I felt dizzy and I went out to grasp for air and never went back. Then I started sneezing and my rhinitis was on. I took anti-histamines to stop it. It did stop my sneezing but I felt phlegm in my throat and my nose was runny. I went off to bed early that night and when I woke up I could not speak well because of an itchy throat and I was slightly coughing when I try to speak.

Yesterday was the worst, my nose was too runny and my throat was itchy. I gargled mouthwash every hour and I took Strepsils because it's antibacterial. I also made myself pure lemon juice with honey and took them in the morning and at night. I'm glad they made me feel better. Today, I'll have my dialysis and will meet my doctor.

Number of Words: 350


This is my entry for the writing contest week 23 hosted by @air-clinic. If you are interested to join please check this link here and follow their instructions.

Please check out @air-clinic in Discord through this link here.



Join the house of cool bunch Steemians right here in #steemitachievers!
Follow @steemitachievers.
Join the amazing Pinoy Steemian crypto-heads in #steemitpowerupph!
Follow @steemitpowerupph.


Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him here and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, on that same page type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Support his other brainchild projects like #untalented, #steemgigs, #teardrops, #steemsecrets and #ulogs. Thank you!

Sort:  

aww I experience with bad allergic reactions also... itching continuosly.

Yep. It can be paralyzing.

Lemon and honey, these two are the best remedy i have tried so far. There's a certain taste of Strepsils that I don't like which tasted like medicine. When we were kids, my dad would bring home boxes of those and my brothers loved sneaking to our parents' room just to get those. I like it at the beginning but could not stand finishing the whole thing that I always spit it out.

Lemon and honey before those prescriptions. Hahaha! Yep Strepsils has alcohol in it and 2 types of antibacterials, thus, the taste.

I didn't know that. I didn't bother to read all the tiny prints haha!

Next time do not go to that place.Even me i dont lime the odor of the chrmical for the hair..so if you need new haircut let them go to your house and cut in a n open air.I hope you wil be gonna fine now.God bless inday.

Yes, mami. Good suggestion, I will try home service next time. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75