Air-Clinic Writing Contest: And I Fainted

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

20180610_104111_0001.png
Source

"I dare you!" her voice boomed calmly as she stared at me, arms akimbo.

I stared into her beautiful face and I could feel my resolve wavering. Worst still were the faces beside hers, each watching me to see if I would take the dare.

This was a deciding point in my life and I knew I would finally be accepted into the clique of cool guys and girls in my school if I passed or go back to my boring life as the unexciting pastor's kid.

This desperate desire to belong made me seek out Annabel's clique. Yes, they were vain and most times mean, but being a member was your passport to being seen as cool and I desperately wanted that. I was tired of getting picked on.

Today, they played a game of Truth or Dare .For my turn I chose dare and now had to smoke a wrap of weed.

Trust Annabel to pick that one dare she knew I was likely to fail. She didn't like me, which was understandable as she didn't like anyone.

She was your classic poster child for plastic Barbie and the fact I desperately wanted to be liked by her and her kind showed how low I'd sunk.

Without thinking further, I snatched the weed from her hand, more in anger than the need to comply. Someone immediately appeared beside me with a lighter. I hesitated only a fraction, before putting it to my mouth and taking a long drag.

The smoke went straight to my lungs, choking me and I was suddenly in a coughing fit. I slowly recovered and, not sure if it was the cheers from the crowd or the certain knowledge I'd passed the test going to my head, but I continued smoking even when it was obvious I didn't need to anymore.

Guess I wanted to prove how 'badass' I was. However, I got to my limit and the next thing I knew, I became dizzy and then I fainted.

I came to at the hospital, where I woke up alone and very lonely.

Word Count: 349

You can join the air-clinic discord sever to keep abreast of updates

https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

Nice write-up ma'am.more Inspirations and Motivations

Hey @paigegirl
What a great post you have there.👍

Did you know?
Morphine is named after 'Morpheus', the Greek god of dreams.

Read on and follow @knowledge-portal to find more latest discoveries and interesting related facts on this blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97