Air-Clinic Writing Contest : Cough Cough Cough

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

flu-1679104_1280.jpg
Source

I walked into the Children Wing, my white coat flailing behind me. I'd just resumed duties as a pediatrician at Cornerstone Memorial, a reknowed hospital in Lagos.

Suddenly there was a loud wail behind me as a child was wheeled in, accompanied by a wailing elderly woman.

"What is the problem?"I asked, at the same time reaching for the chart hung by his bed.

" My pikin dey die!" The elderly woman wailed pitiably.

"Calm down, mama, no one is dying", I soothed, even as I looked at the child who looked wizened from drastic weight loss. He had advanced tuberculosis.

As though in confirmation, the child shot upright as a feat of cough racked his little body, producing a lot of blood.

" Doctor abeg help me!" repeated his alarmed mother.

I turned to the nurses. "When was this child brought in?"

"Last week and he was placed on First Line drugs, before we discovered his TB strain is resistant to them.

"And why wasn't his drugs changed to Second line drugs?"

"They are yet to pay a deposit. The hospital only allowed them as it was an emergency, but hospital policy says bills must be paid after a week or all treatment should be stopped".

" I don call my daughter, the pikin mama wey dey stay Ivory Coast and she promise to bring money", the elderly woman begged.

I knew this woman's plea would yield nothing, so I did the next best thing.

" Continue with the treatment. I'll settle the bill". I announced, seeing the shock on their faces.

Suddenly, a dishelved figure ran in, glanced confusedly about, before sighting us and running towards us.

Isabella! My NYSC sweetheart. The last I'd seen of her, she'd just informed me of her pregnancy and I told her to get rid of it.

Suddenly, my eyes flew back to the bed as the possibility dawned. The child might look emaciated right now, but he looked to be the same age as when we parted.

My eyes met hers in unspoken question and the silent "Yes" she uttered shook my world.

Post Length: 349 Words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01