7 Day Music Challenge-Day 1-Gordon by the Barenaked Ladies

in #albumchallenge6 years ago

Alrighty! I was nominated by the brilliant and beautiful @caitycat to do this 7 day music challenge deal that is circulating Steemit right now!

I haven't been active on Steemit recently and not knowing how to start the habit back up again, so this is the perfect gateway I think! Here I go!

I'm nominating @alvinauh because I think he will have super awesome choices and will probably be able to connect it to teaching or something neat like that.

So, Day 1. This is going to be a somewhat embarrassing view into my eclectic music tastes. It would be much easier if I could just give my favourite songs but ALBUMS is going to be so much harder.

My first choice is Gordon by The Barenaked Ladies. Like a good Canadian (though, admittedly, many Canadians don't like them) I've always been a Barenaked Ladies fan, especially their older stuff.

220px-GordonBarenakedLadies.jpg
image source.

This album gives me a powerful case of the nostalgia. It dropped in '92. Granted I did not really listen to it when it first came out because I was three, but I recall being probably 11 years old and listening to it in my bedroom for hours on the boombox my parents gave me for my birthday. My room was a bit of a sweatbox in the summer because it got afternoon sun, but I remember still closing my door, putting in the CD and experiencing the beginnings of my teenage years and the need for privacy. I also have a strange and vivid memory of reading a book about Amelia Earhart.

These songs do something to my brain and, effectively, my body. I can't really explain it very eloquently, but they give me a heavy sense of calm. Maybe it's the harmonies? For example, in my most recent report card writing stint, I had it on repeat and I really think it helped. It is comparable to a favourite movie playing in the background. It just gives good feelings, like lemonade drinking on a porch swing on the hottest day of the year, or something.

Okay, onto my favourite songs--most of us probably know the classics like If I had a $1000000 or Grade 9 but my favourite tracks are numbers 4, 6 & 7. Brian Wilson, Wrap Your Arms Around Me, and What a Good Boy. Beyond the feelings these songs invoke, there are also some lyrics that really speak to me (I don't know how to say that in an uncorny way) in my adult years. We all take what we want from lyrics, but some of the lines in these songs say things about anxiety, life expectations/responsibilities, and relationships that I identify with.

#4 Brian Wilson

Call it impulsive, Call it compulsive
Call it insane
But when I'm surrounded I just can't stop

#6 Wrap Your Arms Around Me

Do you believe that we are all innately good?
Do you think that you would love me until tomorrow if you could?
Would you please turn down the radio
So we can speak?

#7 What a Good Boy

Got these chains, hangin' 'round our necks
People want to strangle us with 'em, before we take our first breath
Afraid of change, afraid of stayin' the same
When temptation calls we just look away

So that's it! Day 1--done! Special mention goes to songs NOT on this album but by The Barenaked Ladies like: Lovers in a Dangerous Time (which is a cover), Call and Answer, Pinch Me, and of course (because we all try to sing along) One Week.

RULES


You need to pick your 7 all time favourite albums. Post one every day for seven days in a row.

One song (AT LEAST) from each album has to be in your playlist currently. Oh yeah, you also have to share this song with us through YouTube.

The Cover of the Album has to be the main theme of your post each day.

No need to explain why the specific album is a favourite of yours, but if you feel like it, PLEASE do!

Use #albumchallenge as a tag.

Last but not least, nominate a different steemian each day!

Sort:  

YES I looovvve this album! I remember my parents had it and played it all the time. When the Ladies came to play in Kelowna, Mum & Frits took us to see them and I FORGOT MY GLASSES so I was there but I didn't really SEE them. Unreal.

Oh, oh that's the saddest story!
I saw them right before the whole scandal went down.

Barenaked Ladies, great band of the 90's for me.

So good, hey?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17