I don't see it

in #alldutch6 years ago (edited)

I don't see it




Eyesight

There is nothing wrong with my eyesight but I just don't see it. Most people, when they read a book, will be able to visualize the story in their head. With every line they read, the scenery becomes more detailed. Their brain will fill-in the gaps, or correct the details that were wrong.

It is not that books don't touch me. It is not like that at all. What pulls me in, is dialog.

Frustration

This seems a little thing but it is frustrating in many ways. When people talk about a book, how they could picture themselves there, I have no clue. When I talk about dialogs from the book, they have no clue.

My version is a 'he said, she said' one, and the emotions that came with it. For other people it is like being there, knowing the story but not the exact conversations. Try writing a book report when you experience books like that. It is hard. I am unaware of time or place, I just know the story by the dialogs.

Some beautiful books are lost on me. When writers go on and on about every detail, leaves on a tree, bricks in a wall, color of the sky, it doesn't add to the storyline for me. I am easily bored. Nothing is happening.

On the other hand, when people start talking, I am intrigued by as little as two lines. Their movements, their gestures, the expressions on their faces, vivid, as if I am part of it.

Perfume by Patrick Süskind is a perfect example of a great book, that has way too many 'blank pages' for me.

What I seeWhat others see

Poetry

Don't ask me why, but with poetry it is the complete opposite. One or two lines and I see a picture, I am there. Like audience watching a play. Isn't that weird? What is even weirder, I read books but hardly ever poetry.

What I seeWhat others see

Image Source





Sort:  

Interesting dilemma @ijmmai.

There was an article on visualisation and memory in the Volkskrant-magazine a few weeks back. About how most people visualise a complete image when they remember a past holiday, while 5% of the people seem to be unable to recreate such a 'postcard'-picture. They can re-experience the entire situation in one go, up to the smell and temperature and all emotions at the time, but they cannot see that picture in front of them like the other ninety percent... has been keeping me busy ever since.

I wasn't aware until talking to someone about a book we both had read. She was completely in awe of how the author had described a location the main character had spent some time at. She could almost smell the grass. All I remembered was, he was on a mountain by himself :)

And yes, a scent can create a strong reaction, memory of places.

I wrote an essay on perception in a post about five months ago, Starts with the question whether we see the same colour when we look at a blue sky. Here's the link to the Dutch version if you're interested.

Interesting post. Very thorough. There are aspects I wouldn't have thought of in relation to colors.

For me the blue on black is lighter than the blue on white. Not sure if it has to do with screen, maybe it is different on paper.

I am too under the impression people see colors differently. Had quite a discussion with one of my kids about the color of the car we parked next to. Clearly green for me, blue for her. Student at Art College so not unfamiliar with colors. It was weird, we both were certain to be right :)

Your post starts with wondering whether or not you should post it again, but I think this can be posted every few month without trouble. It is informative. It is way better than all the memes that are posted multiple times :)

You are right, the white screenlight coming from behind causes a different perspective on the same two blues and backgrounds than on paper.

Steemit doesn't appreciate reposting. MAkes sense to me... what doesn't make sense to me is why there isn't a highlight feature on personal blog pages where you can advertise your personal favourites. Just like why there isn't a feature where for instance you can easily filter only the poetry entries of my blog...

Well, we're in beta :-)

I was thinking maybe with @alldutch we could organise a specific day where all of us publish a post advertising 3 of our most precious post that are at least a month old, explaining why, what you got out of the comments, whether it stimulated you or not, etc. Just to make some sort of communal statement :-)

Hv a nice day!

At this moment I am promoting other posts at the bottom of (almost) every new post, just to get exposure. I will change the layout soon.

It strange to hear Steemit doesn't appreciate reposting while browsing memes for example will show multiple posting of the same meme. And unfortunately most of them without stating their source, so they make it look like it is their own work. Got fooled by that a few times already :)

You are not the only one looking for the user/tag feature. I knew I had read about it before, had to do a little digging to find the post though.

Your suggesting is a good one. I will be doing sort of a post like that in 8 days. By then I am on Steemit for 100 days. Want to do a recap on the time spent here.

I like your post promos, Don't mind if I copy you soon 😉

No not at all. I am thinking of changing the images to a screencapture of how the posts show up in blog listing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79