'After the Swim' Wednesday Walk. Sculpture by the Sea Bondi. Sydney. Australia. Original Photography.

in #allyinspirit5 years ago (edited)

Shivering.
Wrapped in a beach towel.
After a wonderful swim in the ocean.
~Sue Corbet.

Sculpture by the Sea Bondi.

After the Swim was one of my favourite sculptures in the international environmental art exhibition: Sculpture by the Sea Bondi.

The group of three bronze figures was installed on the beach at Tamarama Bay against the large sandstone boulders there. The large sandstone boulders, carved by wind and water, lent a perfect complimentary backdrop for this work.

'After the Swim' by Sue Corbet.

I walked around and around and around this group of young girls, who had just come out from swimming in the cold ocean, on a beautiful mild Spring day.

ORIGINAL.swimmers-2835.jpg

Live in the sunshine. Swim the sea. Drink the wild air.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson.


ORIGINAL.swimmers-2833.jpg

The only person you are destined to become:
Is the person you decide to be.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson.


ORIGINAL.swimmers-2837.jpg

Unless you try to do something
Beyond what you have already mastered
You will never grow.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson.


ORIGINAL.swimmers-2842.jpg

To be yourself
In a world that's constantly
Trying to make you something else
Is the greatest accomplishment.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson.


ORIGINAL.swimmers-2844.jpg

You become:
What you think about:
All day long.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson.


ORIGINAL.swimmers-2839.jpg

Don’t be too timid
And squeamish about your actions.
The more experiments you make the better
~Ralph Waldo Emerson.


ORIGINAL.swimmers-2841.jpg

When friendships are real:
They are not glass threads or frost work:
But the solidest things we can know.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson.


Sculpture by the Sea Bondi.

On my next Wednesday Walk I'd like to take you on the 2 kilometre pathway from Bondi Beach to Tamarama Bay. This pathway follows the spectacular high cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

Along the way I'll show you some of the fascinating sculptures that were installed along the pathway and then down on the beach, for this year's Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi.

I'll also show you an indigenous line drawing of a whale that had been carved into one of the large shelf rocks overlooking the ocean.


Space Plan by Lv Pinchang.

Conquering the Universe.
The dream of mankind. Spacecraft.
Let us feel the confidence and power of developing.
Our presence in outer space. Remnants of spacecraft.
~Lv Pinchang.

1000.-2681.jpg

Do not go where the path may lead.
Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson.


Join me on my next #WednesdayWalk to see more of the fantastic sculptures at this year's Sculpture by the Sea Bondi.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
Photography by Alison Lee Cousland in this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate these images even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of these images, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

What wonderful sculptures! And their placement could not be more perfect!

Thanks so much Melinda. The positioning of these three young girls on their rustic pedestals was beautiful in itself ~ But then against the purple-tinged sandstone the positioning was absolutely perfect.

I also thought of you as I was reading the requirements for The Blocktrades Scholarship Contest

The final submission date is Nov. 28 ~ Not a lot of time ~ But having consistently conducted your own Photo Shadow Contest, would make you a very special candidate. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.swimmers.png

Thanks for thinking of me with the blocktrades contest! I did apply, but there are so many entries. And lots of people that deserve to be one of the winners.

Pleasure Melinda. That's always the downside of having a limited number of winners in a contest. And we can start to feel that we are less worthy.

As an artist, I've made it a rule not to enter into (off-line) art contests ~ As they are so competitive. But somehow the spirit of contests at Steemit is quite different. The main value in them being that we see beyond our own ideas/work and embrace new ideas that sometimes will lead to the further growth of our own ideas/work or we simply gain enjoyment from what we see.

For me the value in this contest ~ And like Jay, I don't even know if I'll finish my entry ~ Particularly where I have to say why I'm deserving ~ Is to show support of all the wonderful people who are still sharing their ideas and worlds ~ Even when the rewards are at their lowest.

I feel this will change ~ But who knows when. In the meantime, I'm loving the interactions here.

I'm SO pleased to hear that you have already submitted an entry Melinda. May the force be with you. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

I would love to win if it would allow me to make the prizes for the shadow contest bigger, but the way they have set up this contest all the winners will be givers, so it is all good!

I think one of the benefits of winning is that it would put you and what you do into the limelight ~ Which would then flow on to generating more interest in the shadow contest.

But even without being a 'winner' I always feel that when you put yourself 'out there' ~ The Universe will support you. I feel like we put ourselves 'out there' every time we post anything here. Things I've never thought to share come up for me these days ~ I still have to weight VERY carefully, knowing whatever we share here can't be removed after 7 days. Back to my article. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

I guess I have never worried about the things I put out there. Who in their right mind could possibly have time to go back and look through the 1,200 posts and the 31,000 comments that I have made!?

But more exposure is always good!

OMGoddess. 1,200 posts and 31,000 comments. That's incredible.

I think you're right. I hate it when I see older posts and the typos really jump out at me. So I don't deliberately go back unless there's info I want to retrieve for something else I'm writing. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

What a cool sculputure,

thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

This work really was incredibly beguiling Jay. The more I looked at 'the girls' the more enchanting they became. They seemed almost like indigenous dreamtime figures. The old bronze had that wonderful turquoise patina but at the same time it was really contemporary. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.swimmers.png

I love statues like this that trip us and we see more as we look longer

Yes. And paintings too.

This sculpture unlike most of the other work at Sculpture by the Sea was so unobtrusive. The swimmers blended beautifully with the sandstone rocks behind them. I would have missed them except that I wanted to walk out to the jetty at the far end of the entire exhibition. So pleased I did, as I think 'After the Swim' was one of the best works there.

Outside works that is. The sculpture that really won my heart was part of the inside exhibition. Another group of 3 figures ~ But quite different. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

I am pleased you did I love this piece and indeed it does seem to fit so well with its surroundings

Thanks once again Jay. I've just decided to include After the Swim as my post that was posted before the contest announcement was published, along with my article for this week's #WednesdayWalk as my submission for The Blocktrades Scholarship Contest

If you have the time ~ Final date is Nov. 28 ~ You would be a FANTASTIC candidate for this contest. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

I have been off for a week and didnt know of the contest will go and take a look now

Only found out about it a day or so ago Jay and wished I had more time. But working on it. I love the idea as it's bringing together all the people who are still consistently bringing value to Steemit ~ Regardless of the fluctuations of their SBD. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

🎁 Hi @allyinspirit! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Which Would Be Your Ride? Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thanks so much Jay @tattoodjay and @tipu ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.swimmers.png

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=allyinspirit
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=allyinspirit-1542892649823-be-open-to-sacred-space-


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The three swimmers love being on the Steemit Worldmap now @steemitworldmap. Thanks so much. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.swimmers.png

I wish we had sculptures by the sea like this... sighhhh....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11