My New Favorite Show: The Joe Rogan Experience on Youtube

Screenshot 2019-01-10 at 00.28.45.png

He interviewed Roseanne after she lost her show.
He interviewed Alex Jones (before he was banned from Twitter...)
It was his show that Elon Musk smoked that joint on.
He had Dr. Steven Greer on, Jordan Peterson, etc.

Joe Rogan is an amazing interviewer who doesn't only give people - who often have been judged, labeled, ignored or banned from social media - a chance to be heard and defend themselves (or their project or case) in a non-judgmental environment.

What's even more important, in my view, is that he gives us, the listeners, a chance to actually listen and make up our own minds about those people.

So much of what we hear in the news is either incomplete or incorrect. I don't want to judge people just because everybody does, or because mainstream media wants me to. I actually don't want to judge anyone.

So I actually sat through more than 3 hours of conversation with Alex Jones. Someone I did judge or at least ignored until now.

Will I start following him now? No. I can't stand his rants.
Am I glad I listened? Absolutely.

I believe he actually has good intentions. It's just the way he goes about them, or the way he communicates, that do not agree with everyone. I'm not a fan, I don't feel like learning everything about him and his history now, but I'm glad I listened.

There was a lot of crazy talk, but I love crazy. See what I mean in this short clip:

Had it not been for Joe Rogans genius interviewing and relating skills, though, I would have never had the chance to actually hear him. Because as soon as he would have gone off on a rant, I would have switched off. But Joe skilfully brought him back, every time he was about to gain speed.

I actually first came across this show when everyone was talking about Elon Musk smoking a joint publicly. First all, so what? Second of all - wasn't there more the story? Everyone just seemed to retweet that image and join the conversation on twitter, without ever having seen the actual show.

So, I watched it. I listened to the whole interview, from beginning to end - one of the best conversations I've ever seen, and my first real introduction to the human being named Elon Musk. He is not of this world... Absolutely fascinating.

This show really digs deep, instead of just scratching the surface. In a time of fake news where I often don't know what to believe anymore, it allows me to figure out the truth for myself. It may not be your truth, or anyone else's, but simply by listening and getting my own sense of people, I can make up my own mind.

From now on, I will just type in a persons name plus "Joe Rogan" when I want to learn more about them or get a real sense of who they are.

Andreas Antonopolous has been on the show a few times, too, by the way. Amazing, as usual, and highly recommended!

Are you familiar with the show? What's your favorite interview? I'm watching Stephen Greer now, and have Jason Silva on my list afterwards... :)

Sort:  

I listen to his podcasts. It takes an investment of several hours but you get to hear thoughts in depth. Most other media is just sound bites or short bits of text like Tweets. You get into the nuances of a topic when you listen to a longer podcast where things can be looked at from different angles.

I enjoyed the Jordan Peterson interview. I find his ideas on myths and meaning and responsibility and free speech to be interesting. I've seen some of his college lectures and his debate/discussions with Harris, but the interview format adds to the understanding of what he's about, and Joe is a good interviewer.

Yes I listened to the first 10min of Jordan Peterson yesterday, but then was more in the mood for Stephen Greer :)

I actually didn’t even think of listen to this as a podcast!! Thanks for reminding me. I always just have YouTube on :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

He did not catch up on me though

I just stumble upon his clips once in a while

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 20.74% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @connecteconomy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86