IBG Interview - 8 Questions With... Athyia Alna


Music will always create emotional connections for people willing to let it into their soul. That is the purpose behind songwriters pouring themselves into their music. One such artist is our recent find Athyia Alna.

We had a chance to chat with her and get deeper into her musical journey. Enjoy the interview:

First off tell us about the early years of Athyia Alna creating music?

OMG I sucked at everything. It isn’t normal for a single person to be this bad at a skill but I completely flunked out of music class. I didn’t understand notation, I couldn’t play a single instrument to save my life and my vocals were so bad I was the only person in my entire grade to not make the class choir even though I belonged to the said class. I sucked so hard. I was, however, an exceptional writer so I had launched a website where I would post song lyrics and attach little acapella recordings. An A&R messaged me on twitter one day said he heard them and that, if I was serious and really wanted to do this, I’d better start putting out material that people could take seriously so, that’s what I did. I had to learn the hard way around how to make music. Even today I’m always learning always growing, its not natural for me so I really gotta keep at it.

How would you describe your sound?

Alternative pop/rock. It’s always a raw representation of exactly how I feel in the moment, just a beat and the sound of your own voice. In true rocker fashion there is almost always a dominant bassline in my melodies. 

Which artists have had the biggest influence in your development?

Forever and always will be Avril Lavigne. Through her music she gave me permission to be unapologetically myself with songs like “Anything but Ordinary” and “Nobody’s Fool”. She helped me to find out who I really was and to be the best version of it and I’ll always be grateful for that.

What is it that draws you to creating music?

When it comes to my feelings and things that I’m connected to deeply I just can’t. Honestly I have emotional constipation and the only way that I can get things out is to write it down and sing it. I can’t stop doing that even if I wanted to – I obviously have a condition. 

Tell us about your latest single “Is That Justified”. How did that all come together?

Oh boy! I wrote this over 10 years ago actually, I was really young and in a bad place. I stopped going to school, I didn’t want to deal with anybody, I was getting bullied by “family friends”. What I wanted was to be myself and have my music and  figure myself out but no one would let me. Everyone had an opinion on who and what I should be and my life was a constant war zone. So, I was up one night stressed out as hell thinking there is no freaking way this is justifiable. I wrote the song in a matter of minutes, said exactly how I felt at the moment and I let it go into the universe. 

How do you hope to connect with your listeners on an emotional level?

My music is for the ones like me and I’ll tell the stories and sing the songs as honestly as I possibly can. Hopefully, like I did once, they’ll find exactly what they’re looking for.

Give us some advice for other artists building a career with unique music?

Nothing is impossible if you set your mind to accomplishing it. I genuinely believe that we attract who we are and if you work hard and get your music out there and stay committed to improving your craft and your ability, the only limits on you, are the ones you impose on yourself. 

What is next for Athyia Alna?

I don’t know I’m winging it haha ………. I’m releasing three more singles this year. I wanna do an EP for next year and possibly my first festival tour as well.

Keep up with the growing career of Athyia Alna HERE.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://indiebandguru.com/interview-athyia-alna/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76