From The Other Side of Travel - Frying Pan Ambushing

in #amazing6 years ago (edited)

It's a true story from the other side of travel in which the frying pans played the leading ambushing role, in between dear guest and dear host.

Frying PanIllustration source: Pixabay. Credits to OpenClipart-Vectors for frying-pan, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

I don't know did I mention before, but among other things, I'm also quite into home rental and tourist accommodation business. We have our own apartments that we rent on a daily - per night basis, and for a more extended period also.

As well, we provide a complete service for maintaining apartments, handling bookings and other needed things around guests arrival and accommodation for other apartment owners too.

The story I want to tell you happened in one of our apartments. Our guest arrived several months ago, and it was a few months long-term rental. As he came to our friend's recommendation, we even arranged a special discounted price for that guest. Perfect!

Everything seems fine till the day he left the apartment, and we entered into it to prepare it for the next guest. At first glance, everything looked all right, until we started to clean it and took a closer look.

I'll spare you all the other mess, dirt, and damages we have discovered, just wanting to show you the drop that spilled over my cup of tolerance. Frying pans that ambushed us from kitchen cabinets where they have been stored like they are perfectly clean.

Dirty Frying PansPhoto source: Own photo taken with my Samsung Galaxy S9+ mobile phone. ~ © 2018 @ana-maria ~ All rights reserved!

For God sake, what this guy was doing with these frying pans? Did he used them on the wrong side???

However, I spent, literally by word and number, over three (3) hours trying to clean them. I don't even know anymore how many different cleansers I used in the attempt to scrub and wash those stains down. But I know that I didn't feel my hands after.

I somewhat managed to clean them, although not as perfect as I would like, but it was such a thick mass of dirt so firmly glued to the pans that anything better from what I achieved was utterly mission impossible.

Cleaned Frying PansPhoto source: Own photo taken with my Samsung Galaxy S9+ mobile phone. ~ © 2018 @ana-maria ~ All rights reserved!

Did I mention that those pans were brand new as I bought them just a few days before this guest arrived??? As our friends recommended him, how could we leave there some a bit used (although neat and clean) other ones? For such VIP guest should be new ones! Right???!!!

Divider

The whole episode, frankly speaking, took us several days to put the apartment back in decent shape. (Thank God that we had those booking-free days, as I really don't know what we would do if the next guests arrived shortly after.)

When everything was done, and back in place, I know it would be wise and healthy if I could do some relaxing, releasing and cleaning meditation for myself, but I was still quite ready and more in a mood for some boxing match.

Meditation and BoxingImage source: Own derivative work with illustration and photo from Pixabay. Credits to OpenClipart-Vectors for meditate, and skeeze for boxing, both used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

In that spirit, and although I know that the customers/guests are always right, I want to remind all the future ones to be aware, in the first place, that they are paying for using the place, not damaging it.

And as well, I want to tell them in advance, if anyone ambushes me again with such sticky thick dirty pans, I'm going to slam them with the same ones.

That much from me and the other side of travel and accommodation!

Angry Frying PanImage source: Own derivative work with illustration and photo from Pixabay. Credits to OpenClipart-Vectors for frying-pan, and Clker-Free-Vector-Images for angry-face-eyes, both used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.


Posted on Friday, July 6, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

It's a pain when someone uses our space carelessly. I too get pissed off with such people. Even guest who come hone and are not careful about where they would keep their things and would go all over the place. Personally I can not stand even my 1 dish or anything at home getting disturbed from it's place and when that person is not sensitive about my ways it really takes me off. I guess next time you cam put a list of what behaviour is expected from them and if there's a mess then there would be charge also. Many people are careful about their own things but when it comes to other's stuff it hardly matters to them to be careful

I hate that careless and disrespectful behavior too.
I'm not that rigid when it comes to misplaced dishes or other things in the apartment, especially if the guests stay longer, as I think it's normal they would forget where did they find something when they first needed it or maybe for some reason it was better or more natural for them, e.g. glasses to be in one kitchen cabinet instead of the other.
But when it comes to damaging things just because of some arrogant careless and indifference just because it's not theirs, so who cares - that really pisses me off.

Regarding your good suggestion to make a list of our expectations as the hosts, to be honest, we already have it but it seems it wasn't detailed and depth enough. I'm just in the process of making a new one and I'm adding charges if they would act differently.
Besides, I decided, in future, I'm going to take a security deposit upfront for such things, so if everything goes well when they leave they will get it back, if not - I'm sorry.

Lol... That's some energy you put into cleaning the frying pans

Yeah, lol - you can bet I did! 😂

Wow, shining clean pans! I'm now trying to think back to when we have used serviced apartments or places with cooking ability... I'm sure we never left the cookware that bad! But, I'm definitely sure we never received them looking that good!

lol - Thank you! 🙂
Well, we really try to give our best to our guests. As well, having in mind that we are not charging half of it what we are offering, something like that turns out to be not only careless and disrespectful but even insulting to us as hosts.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 1.24$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

What the F did they do with those pans?!?!? This looks like it has been used for more than a decade. I have some old pans from my grandmother that look cleaner than this lol
Next time, before letting the guest leave, check the pans first :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87