Why Aren't You BEING All Those Things You Say You "Really Want to Do?"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ambitions5 years ago

It's entirely possible that I have spent altogether too much time around psychology and self-development. At least it feels like that sometimes... particularly when there are always "clever sayings" and "motivational words" floating around in my head so much.

At the moment, the one that most comes to mind is ancient: "Physician, heal thyself."

0970YellowShrub.jpg
Flowering bush in our yard...

Afternoon Cawfee Tawk...

Mrs. Denmarkguy has been on the phone with clients pretty much non-stop, today. Seems like people's psyches are all linked in some mysterious way... nothing happens for days (or even weeks), and the suddenly everyone decides to have an "emotional meltdown" and call for help... on the same day.

What the heck is up with that?

But I am digressing.

Over our afternoon coffee — which often serves as "decompression time" for both of us — we were talking about the plans and dreams and hopes people have; the ones that we have.

And it brought up the very poignant question she had asked a client, earlier:

"Why aren't you BEING all those things you keep saying you 'really want to do?'"

In my previous post today, I explored the "lies" we tell ourselves... and — in a sense — this is a bit of a continuation of this.

I think we pretty much all have things we want to — or have wanted to — do, at one time or another. We say things like: "I've always wanted to learn the piano, be an artist , publish a book, take up judo, learn to hang glide..." and so forth. Sometimes, it has to do with careers. In the case of the client Mrs. Denmarkguy had been talking to, she had always wanted to have her own radio show that mixed cool alternative music with a sort of "spiritual talk radio."

0970Coast.jpg
Washington's rugged coastline... near our house

"So why aren't you DOING that?"

Of course, we always have a litany of excuses and rationalizations ready. Often, we create contingencies: "When I have more time, next time I get a raise, when I can afford to work part time..."

I remember well my own excuse for not becoming a writer: "It's very TIME consuming, but not INCOME producing!" Whereas that's perhaps true in some way, the vast majority of the world's writers actually have full-time jobs doing something other than writing.

The truth is that I am basically shit at focusing on anything for any period of time... which is what makes me really good at writing "short commentary pieces" like this one, but lousy at stringing together 70,000 words of prose into a book-length manuscript.

Ironic, isn't it... that I have probably written in excess of a million words across 970 posts and 13,000 comments in the course of my two years in this community?

But writing articles and blogging in fun, while the idea of writing a book — even on a topic I know well and have explored exhaustively — sounds like Tedium Pursuit.

0970PinkRhody.jpg
A look inside the bloom of a pink rhododendron

Do We REALLY Want to Do What we SAY?

Sometimes we owe it to ourselves to stop and "take inventory."

There are things we say we want to do... but which of those things are just empty words, or maybe old echoes of a time when we were not at all the person we are today?

And who are we doing these things for? Do you really want to learn to sew clothes, or are you simply "saying that" as a way to appease your mother, who always felt it was a skill you should have? Are you allowing someone else to "should on you?"

Whereas I probably don't really want to write a book... I always wanted to be self-employed, I wanted to be a writer, I wanted to work on my art... and I DO all those things. I also wanted to live by the ocean... and I do, even though it has been at more expense than anticipated. Which brings up another aspect of our "excuse making:" which is that choices have consequences.

Sure, we may genuinely want to DO what we say we've always wanted to do... but we're not willing to take the chance of living with the consequences of those choices.

Financial instability, lack of control, lack of security, lowered status, loss of power... the desires of our egos may be in conflict with the consequences of our dreams... so we "talk the good talk," but we never quite get to "walking the walk."

I remember my friend Diana who had quite a lot of artistic talent as a painter... but she just never could bring herself to do anything more than occasionally dabble. She started talking about "wanting to be a painter" back when we were in our early 30's, but she never acted on it. As far as I know, she is still "planning" to become a painter... at this point after she retires from teaching, in about another ten years.

0970Daffodil.jpg
Inside the trumpet of a daffodil in our garden...

So What's the Teaching Here?

Whereas it's undeniably a good thing to be "sensible" in your approach to life... and have at least a rudimentary grip on this thing we call "reality," don't let too many rationalizations get in your way!

Take some time to figure out whether your hopes and dreams are really yours (not an extension of someone else's), and if they are, starting thinking of how you can bring them into your reality... it's not an "all or nothing" situation, in most cases.

Take it from an lazy old fart: If I can do it, so can you!

Thanks for reading!

How about YOU? What are some of your dreams, hopes and aspirations that you "really want to do" someday? What's holding you back? If you're hesitant, are you sure they are really YOUR dreams... or are they about living up to someone else's expectations? Why would you do that? If they are genuinely yours, what can you do to put things in motion? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190409 21:42 PST

0970

Sort:  

"...when there are always "clever sayings" and "motivational words" floating around in my head so much."

Here's one that floats around in my head quite often :-)

“It is very difficult also to sacrifice one's suffering. A man will renounce any pleasures you like but he will not give up his suffering.”
― G.I. Gurdjieff

Ah yes, Gurdjieff... learned quiet a bit from his teachings during my "Enneagram and Fourth Way phase," many moons ago.

What Eckhart Tolle more recently calls "Sitting in your painbody." People are very attached to their painbodies... I catch myself sitting in my own and have to consciously extract myself.

On a large scale, it seems like humanity does itself a huge disfavor by — in many ways — making it "noble" to suffer, and "indulgent" to be content. But I shall not get started on religious dogma here, because this will just become insufferably long!

I find that there are still depths to be mined when I listen to the audio version of All and Everything. As far as pain is concerned, I am very observant of how attached some people are to their suffering. "Without my suffering, who would I be? I'd be nothing!"

The suffering has built strong bonds within our internal worldview, the pleasures may be fleeting. It is the breaking of those bonds that is hard work because it takes energy to do so - it is thus more efficient to not change.

I agree, but oh man this topic is killing me. You can think from now and till the end of your days about who you are or should be. About your aspirations. Your motivation..

To be honest, I find myself much more happy just not thinking too much about it! Follow the path of least resistance and know that it is enough, you are the only judge.

I´ve always wanted to create music, but have just never really started doing it. I could kick myself for being layzy or not being able to prioritize correctly. But in reality if I am able to enjoy the moment and being ok with what I am actually spending my time on, then I would secure happiness.

If you are not able to enjoy most of your days, THEN you need to start doing things differently.

Easier said than done.

Nice to "see" you @ronni and thanks for the comment!

In reading your comment, I realize that I have become somewhat "culturally colored" by my years of living in the USA... and it reminds me that my essential "danishness" is still a little our of step with the core values in this country.

I'm pretty happy with pretty "normal" things... and probably live my life more "in the present" than most people around me, who seem to always be planning for "bigger and better." I have more time to reflect these days because our children are all adult (20's/30's) and living elsewhere.

Enjoying every day? Yes, easier said that done... but something to work towards!

I can totally relate to what you are saying here.

For me, I enjoy dabbling with all sorts of "projects", but when it comes to focusing on one JOB, then it becomes WORK. Of course, work is not fun, so avoid work by simply dabbling. Dabbling means there are no deadlines or products to complete. I can work at my own speed, stop whenever I want and never finish a project, because it was never mandated as a job that had to be completed. That makes it fun. I bet the same applies for all the writing you do here; you write because you have something to say and you do it for the reward and it is done... finished... short and sweet. Writing a book, on the other hand means organizing chapters and writing lots and lots of pages before you can call it "done".

Certainly, the "fun" vs. "work" equation plays into the mix here!

Before I decided to focus more attention on art (which does make me genuinely happy), I was a "dabbler" for many years. And I had no attached expectations, other than having an enjoyable pastime, whenever I had some spare time.

I can justify my writing here because most of my pieces nowadays are fairly short... and, as you say, I can write, "set it free," and not have to worry anymore.

Thanks for the motivation and inspiration you brought today.

You're welcome! Glad you found it useful.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Moon was Full..... I wonder if that has an effect on the Meltdown %....?

Yes that was the MOON...! And it was that bright at dusk.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11