Castle Schwerin, Germany Part 1

in #americaningermany5 years ago (edited)

After my New Years post, that showcased a few highlights from my 2018, my good Steemit friend @janton asked that I make a post about the Castle Schwerin we visited while by brother and his wife were here in Germany.

My brother had planed the trip to the castle for months in advance because he wanted to propose to his then girlfriend. My wife and I were a little hesitant because it was such a far drive, 3 hours or so, that we dint want him to make alone in a foreign country and our children were still very young so they could not come with. So we got Oma to babysit and Mrs. Badger and I joined them in making a life long memory. It was quite the trip.

IMG_8052.JPG

I think this castle is absolutely beautiful, and really looks like an iconic castle you imagine when you think of a medieval castle. Here in the North of Germany, where we live, there are a few castles but they are much more practical than extravagant like this one. It sits on a quasi island in a bay of the Baltic Sea and has a huge vantage point. My brother proposed right in front of the castle and several onlookers gave them an applause when she said yes.

IMG_8106.JPG

The grounds outside were also very cool and even though we came in the dead of winter we still spent some time exploring them. There were lots of statues, gardens, and places to sit and relax. Even though we just wanted to hurry inside and get some lunch!

fullsizeoutput_6985.jpeg

Of course there is always time for me to dink around even when it freezing cold out, but my wife humoured me and took this picture. Gosh aint I funny...

fullsizeoutput_6986.jpeg

Ever wonder what they serve in a castle for lunch? Gullosh! It was so good and we enjoyed the amazing atmosphere, I mean lunch in a castle come on! The happy couple called all their loved ones back home in the states to share the good news of their engagement while we waited for our food.

IMG_8045.JPG

If I remember correctly, this is one of the throne rooms, there was a couple. I guess I should have taken a picture of the signs nearby, but I was just interested in how stunning the place looked. Very fairytale looking.

IMG_8102.JPG

Here is a picture of a random couch in a hallway. One can't help but imagine the people who have sat on that couch. The gold trim on the red fabric is the perfect aesthetic for in a castle, what else would you use?

This is the first post of a series. I have a few more photographs for our castle visit I plan to share! Thanks everyone for stopping by!

Sort:  

howdy sir badger! oh my gosh this place is magnificent! The time, money and artisans it took to build something so incredible is just stunning to think about. You got some great pictures too, I can't wait to see more of them, this is a wonderful post, thanks for the mention and the castle is fantastic!
Oh, and that photo of you clowning around was very funny! lol.

Awesome, @janton so glad you enjoyed it! I am going to try and get the second post out this week. I really loved touring that place. And thanks so much for the resteem!

Posted using Partiko iOS

yes sir my pleasure! Now I know one of the destinations I want to visit if I ever make it to Germany!

Congratulations @balticbadger! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

The pictures are really good. Thank you for sharing with us.

Thanks for the life comment!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks great Badger. There are so many of these in Germany . It's mad that Germany isn't a larger tourist destination. I was around Alsace not so long ago and came across a castle called Konigsberg castle or something like that and it was a proper castle. Alsace is some spot. Half German , half French, Language all over the shop.

I know, there are so many castles it's insane! I've only been down by France once and we went to Holland instead. I would love to get down there and see some of those castles! Although, my French is garbage hahaha but I think.my wife's French is somewhat functional yet

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04