Foraging for Lifelong Memories

in #americaningermany5 years ago (edited)

Hunting sacred mushrooms

Good Sunday to you all and greetings from Northern Germany!

We are enjoying some beautiful fall weather here today so my son and I headed out into the great north woods of Germany.

The Hunt

A7E639FD-EB2D-4414-B99B-7BC6BCB1E11D.jpeg

I am sure for many, a day like today is just another day of trying to accomplish something or maybe trying to accomplish nothing, but for me, I was gifted the morning alone with my son. This is a special time for us as we have a family of five so one on one time in the woods is really appreciated.

Exploring a familiar forest, we set out with no expectations to find any mushrooms just our forage bag, some sunshine, and some father-son bonding time.

My son is too young to really understand what we were doing, but he has reached an age where he might remember these times in the woods and they are really important for me to share them with him.

It wasn't long before we found what was I was looking for and we didn't even have to leave the path! This was extra nice because by this time my son was pretty tired and already riding in the stroller looking for our car.

5B55471A-347A-4BFB-8EB8-F6FFD8A321C8.jpeg

All and all I bagged about 10-12 really nice mushrooms today and they are already drying out to be canned and turned into tea later.

Magic Mushrooms

When you encounter these Amanita muscaria growing in the wild it immediately puts you into a present state. They demand you recognize the living moment and merely being in their presence calms even the wildest soul and they are just amazing to look at!

Today, I was a little rushed with my sleepy son as well as others nearby in the woods so I wasn't able to sit with the mushrooms and just embrace the surrounding how I would have liked to. Nevertheless, it always is a truly magical experience.

0774FB01-EDAF-4DCD-A9AD-E0031ED3ACFA.jpeg

These mushrooms are extremely mystical and there is no question why they play such an important and large role in our European Culture and other cultures around the world too. Only now are we beginning to, once again, remember the transformative power of the nature around us.

Microdosing Update

As promised, I would like to share with you my microdosing experience so far. I started out with 5mL mushroom extract (ambrosia) mixed into hot lime tea. This amount was way too much as I could feel the effect of the intoxicating mushrooms.

Then I halved it to 2.5mL and that was a bit better but still a little intoxicating (noticeable). Now I have settled on 1.25ml every morning and it is working really well. I have no intoxicating effects and my anxiety is greatly reduced.

I am still experiencing nightmares on a daily basis, but I can tell that they are not as intense as normal and they don't stay with me the entire day like they normally would.

The hard part about microdosing with Amanita muscaria is that you never know the potency of the mushroom, each one of them is different. So each batch of tea I make I will probably have to experiment a little, but I think 1.25ml is always a safe bet.

Bonus!

It's been a while but I put together a little video from our trip this morning, I hope you enjoy it!

Enjoy some time with your loved ones!

-@balticbadger

Sort:  

@balticbadger congrats on finding a balence microdosing. I hear great benefits from it using it in small amounts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot! After a week or so I am really stetig g to notice. It’s really amazing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Holy bananas! That's awesome! These are the kind of posts I like to read!

Totally!!!!

I love Amanita muscaria and have a boat load dried still. I found a FIELD of them some years back in Colorado. It was fully magical walking among them all. Dinner plate sized open and soft ball sized buttons.

Really kick ass that the m.d. is working well for you! You will just have to test each brew you make as there is such variability, but with experience you will be able to refine your dose after one test. Wouldn't it be nice to have test strips for potency?

The biggest I have seen is about 8 inches across. It was my first time out and didn't take them right away and when I came back the critters had gotten to it :(

Yes, that would be so awesome if there was a way to test it. My first batch I don't dry them I just put them straight into a boil and so I lost a bunch of potencies but I am drying two batches right now. Can I ask how did you dry them? I can't afford a food dehydrator so I just have them on a window screen with a fan blowing on them and a dehumidifier underneath and it's working, just really slowly. Have they held up nicely?

I found mine in southern Colorado and had to make it all the way back home after a week or more of climbing through Utah, Idaho, and Montana. I split the caps and stems between pillow cases, put them into a plastic tub with a big tub of desiccant. This got me home with minimal loss. Once home I put them onto my food dehydrator at a low heat and slow dried them. What you are are doing will work well and should help preserve the potency. Mine are doing pretty well, they are not quite as potent now but that isn't much of a problem as I still have over 8 oz so I can just use more. 🤣

Ha ha! Crazy, good thing you got so many! I am trying to put as much away as possible this year and see what I end up with. The woods around here are crawling with them and no one here will touch them, well besides me. None going in my woods though, too bad! Thanks for the input, glad to find others out here on steemit!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's killer you have no competition! People just don't know the power of them or are scared due to the red cap. I wish I could find them more often here, the east side of the state here is not nearly as plentiful as the west side. We have boat loads of black morels though with all the burn scars.

Howdy sir badger! It's so cool that you discovered those. Are they seasonal though? But you can harvest a bunch and store them if they're dehydrated right? Nice job on the video!

Yup! They are normally only around in fall. I got a bunch drying on a window screen with a fan right now. I can’t afford a dehydrator just yet! 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh very good, so you just have to stock up until next year!

Lots of nice specimens, watch the dosage lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

My liver!!! 😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ouch my life, said the novice mushroom hunter who stir fried death caps lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be my luck with picking shrooms...

These are very beautiful and their color is very colorful.

I think so too!!! I love them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

So beautiful. Mother Nature is truly the best artist.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87