My Journey Begins, Part 1

Good Wednesday to you all!

If you saw my last post then you already know about my recent discovery of the mushroom Amanita muscaria.

Since making that discovery, I have become obsessed with this amazing mushroom. I went straight out yesterday and harvested my first batch.

8CC41FEE-41AF-4DD2-9E16-C614E9D40CF0.jpeg
Several days of rain has removed much of the white specks and red coloring.

After reading countless reports, studies, and watching YouTube videos I felt confident in my abilities to safely consume this mushroom for microdosing purposes.

Microdosing is where you follow a strict schedule and ingest a minuscule amount of a mushroom to achieve medicinal benefits without hindering your ability to function normally.

Unlike the magic mushrooms you normally hear of, Amanita muscaria are not illegal to possess, ingest, or purchase. That being said, consuming this mushroom can be very dangerous if not prepared properly, like many foods we eat on a daily basis.

There are many reported benefits to ingesting this mushroom but mainly reduced anxiety, antidepressant, better sleep, eliminates nightmares, among others. Like many of my comrades, I suffer from crippling anxiety, depression, and nightmares. This is what I am looking for with this mushroom.

Preparation

15 grams dried mushrooms (3/4 caps 1/4 stems)
1 cup filtered water
Boil for 20 minutes (low boil)

B43191B5-865B-41B2-93A8-91F454063CEF.jpeg

First, I washed them to remove all the dirt and selected only the ones I felt safe consuming. I know without a doubt that all the mushrooms I picked were Amanita muscaria, but being my first time I wanted to use only the best ones.

70685A09-06A1-49A3-9988-7C13AC25473E.jpeg

Next, I sliced up a few of them to dry them in the oven.
This turned out to be a big mistake and I will never do it again. The mushrooms did not dry well at all am I am pretty sure I destroyed the medicinal characteristics by doing this (will be discussed in my next post).

CE532C53-4F2B-4D3A-9BB1-A2A1EAFB9F95.jpeg

Normally, you first dry your mushrooms either by air drying them or with a food dehydrator and then you can store them or use them to make a tea. Once I realized my failure of oven drying I did some quick research and found out you can boil them raw but you lose about 30% of the “good stuff”that you would have if you dried them first.

So that's what I did! I dumped them all in and boiled them for 30 minutes on a low rolling boil. When it was done I used a strainer and poured the tea into a jar for immediate consumption and a jar to freeze for later.

5E14ED99-FEC5-4E64-A152-E6AE89694650.jpeg

The redness of the caps is leached away in the boiling process and you are left with some bleached out looking mushrooms and this very beautiful amber colored tea. I sampled a nibble of the leftover mushroom and it tasted okay, but not the best so I threw them in the bio trash.

Conclusions

This was an extremely beneficial learning process. I am heading out today to find some more, which I will take the time to air dry them properly for storage to use when this tea runs out. There seems to be plenty of them growing by us and I would like to accumulate as much as possible before the season ends.

By not drying the mushrooms I lost a lot of the “good stuff” so when taking my little dose, I will add some lemon juice to convert some of the acids (though I think at these small amounts it is rather pointless). In a future post, I will talk in more depth about the science at play here.

I also made the mistake of freezing the bulk of it in one container so I am afraid once I defrost it the bulk of it will be lost.

The good thing is that I knew going into it I would not master this process my first time around. I am one who learns by experience and I know my next batch will be much better! Hopefully, there are some mushrooms left out there!

I have begun my first microdose and will post about that next.

Thank you for your attention and am looking forward to your input!

Sort:  

I'm not sure I'd be giving it a crack although I'm an advocate of investing mushrooms. I have them on pizza mainly, but also as a side on my bacon and eggs breakfast and marinated on anti-pasta platters. Yep, one could say I'm a mushroom chomper for sure.
.
.
.
.
.
Good post mate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha!!! Thanks man! I was curious about what you would think. I love mushrooms with gravy! Yummy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I always liked mushrooms...mum (mom) and dad used to take us mushrooming as kids, in the pine forest. We didn't get exotic ones like yours though, just plain old field mushrooms. Mum made mushrooms on toast with gravy, like you say. Ah, good times.

Yipes you are brave. The old shamans used to drink reindeer urine after the deer ate a bunch of them to get the chemical high off of them. I knew an old hippie who ate one and had a bad trip, he pulled a chest of drawers onto himself in stoned out stupor. He survived but microdosing is probably the best way of doing this. My epilepsy prevents me from ever trying psychoactive compounds, caffeine is even off limits for me.

Wow that’s crazy! I tried a “heroic” dose last night just to get a feel for it and it was intoxicating like alcohol not like mushrooms lol but had some crazy dreams. It was a 15 gram dose and I won’t do it again. I am on 2.5 regiment and there is really no side effect just a calming feeling, reduced anxiety, and hard to explain but a present feeling? I’m not sure but I plant to go in depth on everything on my next post, sorry if it seems redundant.

Damn many sorry to hear that I guess you can’t go swimming then either? Really sucks about the caffeine! Damn!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah the old hippie that took a heroic dose has also done every other drug known to man so i suspect his bad trip might have been a cumulative problem. No unsupervised swimming for me though im on a good medicine that keeps seizures from happening, haven't had one in a few years now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad to hear it my son has them too and it’s an awful thing... I’m sure there is a mushroom out there to cure it just waiting to be discovered!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Okay I mistyped I meant 15ml that is nothing next to 15g. If I did that I would have been riding flying reindeer and dancing with elves for sure! 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow very insightful post. I very much enjoyed reading it. Thank you for sharing.

I am very glad to hear that! Thank you!! 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Very much appreciated! Thank you @solominer and @helpiecake!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Thank you so much! What a great honor! 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Really appreciate it, thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for showing the process. I will try and find one the animals haven’t already taken to have a high old time this winter. 😂

😂😂😂 Thanks for checking out out!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting stuff! Hope you find the benefits you are looking for!

Very interesting sir badger! What does the tea taste like? Those nightmares, is that related to your military experiences?

Like mushroom soup. Not bad, it smells like baked bread. The nightmares... yeah from the war. Sucks.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm sorry to hear about the nightmares, do they usually subside or decrease in frequency over time or what do the VA doctors or other Vets say?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65