Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 106

Why hello there!

Today was well and truly a cardio day. I've really got to work on my tank and I'm totally keen to make it happen.

At lunchtime I ran again.... it was about 33 minutes and 3.8 kilometers, and I still had to walk the last 10 minutes. The route I go is mostly downhill at the start, and then, obviously mostly uphill on the way back... which is brutal. My Achilles and calves were my weak spots again today... they're struggling with the strain... which is cool, I'm mainly running for conditioning at the moment.

Once my legs are strong enough to go 30 minutes without feeling tight, then I can start to work on my cardio tank.



Source

My run was during lunchtime.
After work I did some hill sprints. I didn't tackle it with my same gusto, because I was sore from my earlier run, and Mondays run... but it doesn't take much to be breathing really, really heavy, and that's what I wanted to work on. I basically need to make myself uncomfortable for as long and as often as possible to improve my endurance.

I'm actually thinking of trying to qualify for the Ninja Competition finals again. There is a competition on the 27th of May in Minnesota, which is the same week that my work asked me to head over to Wisconsin... so I can drop in on the way home and see how I go. I'm not desperate to get into the finals at all... but competition practice is really important... even if the thought of competing again instantly makes me nervous.

After my hill sprints, and then cardio on the cross-trainer, I worked on my balance again. It's very slow going, but I feel like I'm making very slight progressive improvements... I just need to stick with it.



Endurance takes such a long time to develop, and is really hard to maintain... but I've noticed it doesn't take too much effort to regain... so don't let that hold you back.




Cardio

  • 30 minute run


Hill Sprints

  • 5 very slow arduous hill sprints


Cardio again

  • 15 minute cross-trainer on level 12.


Slacklining and balance work

  • 15 minutes



I've been taking it easy over the past few days, so not sore at all.




Yoga sessions (0/2 Completed)
Slackline practice (2/7 Completed)




100 Rep Challenge

  • 30 minute run = 100 reps
  • 15 minute hill sprints = 50 reps
  • 15 minute cross trainer = 50 reps

@steemmatt's fitness challenge for Wednesday- 200 reps



Spartan Sprint Portland - 25th August

Thanks heaps for reading... super super super appreciate it.


Steem Run Club


Might need a better heading than this...


MoveMob - 8.52 kms


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

Like your daily lesson. If you don't use it you lose it.

Thanks Gab! It's so true though.

You're absolutely killing it. Goals!

Thanks! I'm trying!!

#goals



Yes developing endurance takes a lot of time and will power. As far as your exercise are concerned great going. keep it up. @aussieninja

Thanks @kamchore, you've really been one of my strongest and most consistent supporters. I really appreciate your comments and your amazingly positive attitude!

I threw up a little in my mouth just reading hill sprints... haha those are no joke!

They're just so ridiculous hard... I feel like I'm barely moving even though I'm trying to run as fast as I can.

When I first started a couple of weeks ago, I honestly thought I was going to legit throw up afterwards... now after a ton of hard work, I only feel ridiculously exhausted.

I love how "only ridiculously exhausted" was an improvement! haha

Always a good idea working on CV fitness, you'll find it comes on faster than strength gains! One thing I would say is that just be careful with the hills, people usually think it's uphill that causes the next day pain, but it's usually the overextension involved with running back downhill! That's when you've really got to try to control things.

Thanks dude! Within a week I reckon I've seen a huge improvement... but I was confident my fitness would come back pretty quick, I used to play indoor soccer/futsal a few times a week, so before I came to the US I was so incredibly fit (when I wasn't, you know, incredibly injured).

So when going down hill, should I try and hold myself back, or let the hill and gravity take me? In other words, lean forward or lean back?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61292.24
ETH 2999.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76