Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 107

Yo! Today was another cardio heavy day for me. I'm determined not to be caught out in a comp by 20 seconds again.

At lunchtime I ran again.... it was about 33 minutes and 3.8 kilometers, and I still had to walk the last little bit. It was better than my run on Wednesday, but my Achilles really aren't happy with this big jerk bully. The difference between Mondays run and todays run is just huge though, I really feel like I've improved in just this week.

After work I was keen to make @annemariemay throw up in her mouth by doing more of these guys:



Source

5 hill sprints and they're definitely getting easier. They still suck more than anything else I do.. but I don't immediately feel like death afterwards... I just feel like the oldest man in the world.

I smashed out some yoga because I've just been feeling so super tight in the hamstrings and calves. I don't know if I'm allowed to say this, but I really don't enjoy yoga at all. I'm so tight and my muscles are always so sore, that I'm just incredibly uncomfortable for the entire time... and my flexibility and balance are terrible... so I'm really bad at it. These are all the reasons why I have to do more of it... but man, I'd so honestly rather throw myself at some crazy hard death obstacle instead.



Source

As per today's photo, smashed out some slackline time too. I'm very nearly getting to a whole balanced step... again I feel like I've improved a lot in just a week... starting new things is awesome.



You really can improve within just a week.... as long as you're super terrible to begin with... this is so super exciting to me, because I'm terrible at so many things, so my capacity to improve is almost unlimited!! Whooo!




Cardio

  • 30 minute run


Hill Sprints

  • 5 very slow arduous hill sprints


Yoga

  • 30 minutes P90X3 Yoga


Slacklining and balance work

  • 15 minutes



My ankles and Achilles haven't been real happy me with today... but they'll get over it.




Yoga sessions (1/2 Completed)
Slackline practice (3/7 Completed)




100 Rep Challenge

  • 30 minute run = 100 reps
  • 15 minute hill sprints = 50 reps
  • 30 minute yoga = 50 reps

@steemmatt's fitness challenge for Friday - 200 reps



Spartan Sprint Portland - 25th August


Move mob for daily post.png

MoveMob - 7.3 kms


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

Oh man, just catching up on your last few posts and noooooo I'm gutted you missed out on placing by 20 seconds. HOWEVER coming 4th is absolutely amazing!! Especially given the calibre of athletes you mentioned and the fact you were struggling with tendonitis too.

Awesome achievement and I think great recognition of the effort you've put in so far.

You're back to posting pics of other people working out I see now haha, too hard to film yourself I imagine!

I know right?!!? It was definitely bittersweet... I was so excited when I realized I did so well compared to these ridiculously incredible athletes (some of whom I train with, and they are definitely stronger than me) and then I went from elated to disappointed back to elated and then slightly disappointed again when I found out I only missed on a podium finish and entry to the next stage by such a short margin... still it's been good fuel to get me pushing it...

Haha, yeah so the top photo is me. I actually made a gif of me doing hill sprints, but the file size was too big and it just wouldn't upload... it sat on uploading for seriously 30 minutes and then I got over it and chucked something else in. I am actually starting a separate account with daily videos though, but I am shy, but yeah, I'll let you all know if I get into the dtube groove.

Yoga doesn't seem to be something that you should be smashing out as such? XD And yeh that sounds like precisely why you should be doing it. You can say you don't like yoga, but I'm probably biased as I feel the same way. Prefer tai chi XP

goatsig

I did Tai Chi when I was learning Kung Fu - and really enjoyed it... it's a pretty incredible system. It definitely improved my martial arts and balance (and memory) but I'm not sure if I feel as uncomfortable as I do with yoga and all it's hard stretchiness...

Mate, you're killing it. Keep at it, you're off to a solid start and I have absolute confidence that you'll get there in the end.

Thanks dude!! That means a lot! I have to admit, I totally get down on myself for not going at it as hard as I should, but everyone on Steem has been really good at reminding me to appreciate the progress so far. I work hard and I've done good, and I should remember that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10