Court update 8-13-18: It's over, Johnny...

in #anarchy6 years ago


Here is the latest, and likely the last, update on my seemingly never ending court case. After much deliberation and one last sleepless night, I finally decided to put an end to this. I have said throughout this entire process that I would fight this to the end, and I meant that, but the pressure eventually became too much. As of yesterday, I had told my lawyer that we were going to proceed with the trial and even handed him most of his final payment. After our talk, though, and after seeking the advice of my dad and my #AnFam, the prospect of facing the insane stipulations of the probation process here in Nassau County, which would include me being forced to remain in this County for its duration, became something I just wasn't going to be able to risk.

I have tried to stick to my principles throughout this process. Pleading guilty to something that I don't believe I did was never something I wanted to do. In the end, however, I needed to make the pragmatic choice for me and my family. Some may be disappointed in me for making this decision. Frankly, I'm a bit disappointed in myself. The "what-ifs" will likely haunt me for some time to come but since this was the only guaranteed way that I could finally obtain my freedom from the DPRNY, I had to do what I had to do.

I would like to thank everyone who has supported me through this process. Without y'all, I may have caved much earlier and received a much harsher punishment. This wasn't an easy choice; in fact it was one of the hardest ones I've ever had to make. But what is done is done, and at least now I can move on and start planning that new life for my family. After all, that has been the most important thing all along.

Related links:
https://steemit.com/anarchy/@abolitionistjay/qqo6uw2l

Jeremy’s links:
https://steemit.com/@abolitionistjay
https://twitter.com/AbolitionistJay
https://www.facebook.com/AnarchoAbolitionist

Seeds of Liberty Podcast:
http://solpodcast.org

BipCot license info:
http://bipcot.org

If you enjoyed this content and would like to support me in making more, please feel free to donate at:

Bitcoin
1GwJgezsed1htdgjX8sY8z58LVNzJZZqb5

or Bitcoin Cash
1F72VATvHs5mw7eYq74Rm8cXjVi6XCbMGw

or Monero
45yZVP5P6JADvbRTnjwvzyiksogwMtQ9AjZBRoNATykZTtEMixAA6uiRFxLsPS7yUQ5CRfBMVXGnncG3e14T6MXrNNtWARK

or LiteCoin
LdwvzThSKxtDDRDsDtVXTikYZiSKdJNCre

or through Patreon
https://www.patreon.com/SeedsofLiberty

Love, peace, and voluntary interactions for all!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Never forget that you were the “mug-ee” here man. You fonally have them your wallet because they had you at gunpoint. Fuck ‘em. Be kind to yourself and get on with the life that you want. I don’t think you abandoned anything but their goddamn idiot shit show.

We got your back.

Thanks, man. It was a really tough call but, as a friend pointed out to me earlier, even though I had to payout something in the end they still wasted far more resources on me than they are recouping. At least I have that.

Let this case stand as yet another example that the justice system has nothing to do with justice.

I didn't follow your case so I have no idea what this is about. I do know that taking a deal is often a sound financial decision and your Lawyer wasn't lying when he/she said a jury decision is a gamble. There is nothing wrong with surviving and returning to fight another day. Look at their unlimited resources and then look in your wallet. I hope you get to move on, good luck to you. Greetings.

Thanks for the kind words. This was a long slog against some bs charges, but the urge to get on with my life outweighed the risk of being forced to stay where I no longer wish to be.

Be different if you didn't have children and were younger. You did the right thing. Time to move on and live life as much outside the state as possible. Put this behind you and enjoy your life and your children. Now we all know not to get caught up in the meat grinder "just us" system. Have a beer and relax.

If not for the kids, I probably would have taken the risk. Getting them out of here is priority one, and this just seemed like the safest bet.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by AbolitionistJay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87