Privacy. It's not as black and white as I would like it to be.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #anarchy5 years ago (edited)

If you have nothing to hide, what are you afraid of?



There is some truth to that, but on the other hand, if we don't have privacy, what are we left with?

privacy v security.png

One of the things I wonder about on these platforms is a lack of privacy.

This is not a new ponderance, of course, but one I don't want to get buried.

In order for this to be the ultimate platform, shouldn't there be some privacy features? The obvious one is just the visibility of wallets and transactions. While that is obviously not a problem for most, clearly it presents some security issues for a whole host of situations.

Can we attract journalists and whistleblowers when all is open to see?

On the other hand, the transparency is very attractive to a lot of people.

We have communities and creators coming together and functioning largely due to the complete transparency here. Using myself as an example, I like to see how well delegated or followed and voted they are before I make a decision on using my own vote for their content.

The transparency can be a form of balance - but is it real? Is it affecting my decision when really maybe it shouldn't? I mean, why should I consider how well supported a piece of content is; if it's good enough to vote for, then so be it.

Its just something I ponder.

Sort:  

One of the founders of the chain, Dan Larimer wrote a fascinating piece claiming we don't go far enough with transparency here, and that the best option would be a chain where each account was permanently tied to one, thoroughly verified individual.

Yes, that's it. Really spurred some conversation. I was looking in his other account (dantheman) and got sidetracked reading some of his stuff. Really top notch.

Yup. Sure does get me thinking. That is exactly the kind of article I need tonight. I'm interested to see what the debate looks like.

Hmm. I should look that up.

Congratulations @diggndeeper.com! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13