What Is Keeping You From Running Linux?

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

It may be one of the more powerful things you can do for personal and societal liberty.

Yes, I do think so.

Linux isn't worth much without the array of other open source offerings, but its a pretty rich world of free software out there.

No, free software does not mean less good. Not at all and certainly not today. Free and open software is generally more compatible than proprietary software. A great example is office suites. LibreOffice, for example is more compatible with Microsoft Office than Microsoft Office is. Unless you are using macros in the spreadsheets, the versions of LibreOffice are compatible with many more versions of Microsoft Office.

So, my question remains. Why don't you want to use Linux?


Is it the install? Linux is actually super easy to install. It is possible to get confused about all the options, but if you are not confident let me assure you that not only is Linux easy to install, but you can actually leave your Windows in place and install Linux as a boot up choice. In other words, you can boot to Windows or Linux at startup.

You can also just wipe your Windows and let Linux have your whole system (probably recommended, but I am biased).

Is it because you absolutely need a certain software that only runs on Windows? Well, this may be where you do have to stick with Windows - sort of. You can actually install Windows inside your Linux operating system on something called a virtual machine. It is an easy thing to do if you have a paid copy of Windows. I have done this from time to time back in the day just for specific software but I don't ever come across the need anymore.

Is it because Linux is too difficult to use? I have to admit that I consider myself a power user and rather long in the tooth when it comes to using this stuff, but I am certain that a true beginner can log onto Linux and use it with ease. There are flavors of Linux known to be particularly well suited to beginners in that they are easy to use and ready to go "out of the box". Linux Mint is the king of the easy and complete Linux choices out there.

What other reasons might people have to not try Linux? I want to know.


There is nothing wrong with the proprietary operating systems, but if you have the option of happily running a free and open system that has the power of reducing the harms of the State, why not?

It is all about choices.

Sort:  

I ran Linux while in university. I was a computer science student, and we were pushed to use Windows and MS things. I got tired of how buggy Windows 98 (later I moved to NT4, later Windows 2000, later XP—all had problems) was so I moved to a custom install of Gentoo linux on my personal machine. Loved it.

These days tho I use Mac. I would go back to linux, but I just don't have the time to troubleshoot when problems arise or search for open source alternatives to apps. Mac has its own problems, but it does usually work without problems, even if that means our options are very limited.

But I do love linux. One of these days, when work lets up and my kids grow up and I have free time again, I may move back to it.

My next article is going to be about alternative apps. Anything in particular you need to use? I'll try to find all the things.

You might find that Linux is a ton less buggy than even a few years ago. Besides power flashes, this desktop I'm on has been running for several years without a hiccup and I have a habit of messing with things until they are broken.

I hope you give it another try when the next opportunity arises.

I don't usually mess around trying to fix stuff either. I just have a solid backup and I just nuke and pave.

Thanks for the comment.

Thank you for the offer. I'm sure it is more stable these days, and if I installed it again I would use one of the more newbie releases that do everything for you instead of Gentoo (which you build yourself step by step). But like I said... when my kids get older and I have more free time. Or when crypto goes to the moon and I can afford an early retirement ;)

As a professional photographer, I use photoshop daily. It is the single most important app in my life. Does linux have a decent alternative yet? I know Gimp, of course. But a dozen years ago when I last used it, it wasn't worthless.... but it wasn't good either.

I also used Marked a lot to convert my markdown and multimarkdown documents into other formats. I'm sure we have command line apps to do the same in Linux, but anything with a nice gui?

That is all that comes to mind for now. @ mention me in your next article so I don't miss it, please.

Gimp has certainly come a long way. If you are a pro photoshop user, I'm not sure how it will be to get along with. I'm sure it is powerful enough these days but when you know a tool, you might just not want to change. If that is the case, a quick search shows that you can install PhotoShop under Wine. Wine is "Wine is not a Window Emulator" - it is a system you can install on Linux that lets you install a lot of popular Windows things. Aparently, it works well for Photoshop and a bunch of the Adobe products.

Linux also has DarkTable which I use a lot. It is a comparable to Adobe's LightRoom.

I have looked for markup stuff too, but I never saw much that grabbed me. It was some time ago and it may be that I just don't know much about it. Short version, yes. How good? Not sure.

Started slipping away from Mr. Gates' clutches with Minix (if we don't include CP/M which was on my first desktop). It was not long before moving on to the Slackware flavor of Linux. Work, through the 90's, took me more into Red Hat's release. Now in semi-retirement Ubuntu serves my needs and could not be a more user friendly experience for the home user, in my opinion.

Ubuntu Home Site:
https://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop

That is cool. I have some passionate Slackware devoted friends. I have never used it, but I get the attraction.

Ubuntu is a tried and true leader.

Thanks for the input.

Is this "heavier" or "lighter" than windows?

I have a laptop that runs very slow...it is 3+ years old...maybe over 4...would the performance be enhanced running this?

You can "have it your way". If you are looking for light, then go with the XFCE desktop version. It is very lightweight does everything you would expect.

Linux is by it nature hard to get heavier than Windows, so pretty much any desktop will likely improve user experience.

That is great to know. I will have to look into it. In addition to being out from under the hand of corporate America, a system that run my laptops better is always welcomed. I will look into XFCE.

Thanks.

Exactly!

Now to just get a cell phone that is away from Google or Apple.

Do linux phones exist?

Now to just get a cell phone that is away from Google or Apple.

Do linux phones exist?

Only sort of. I'll look into that. I do know of a couple of security centric ones.

Here is an idea. How about we put something together called Decentralize Your Life?

We not only do posts but we try to actually help people do what you are describing. Convert people away from Softy and get them on Linux. Promote things such as decentralized messengers, emails, and even phones. Really start to build a methodology to help people get away from under the thumb of the major corporations and data miners.

That fits my brand completely. I'm game.

Do you use discord of steemchat?

Well I imagine it is only temporary.....we will see those emerge. Some are starting to claim they are going to use blockchain. I am not sure if that is just a marketing ploy or if they are really using different technology to decentralize things.

Since one is a Chinese company, I doubt decentralization of data is part of the equation.

LOL, I asked to go to a Linux meeting last year so I could learn more and ask all the users stuff, it was good and funny...

I ended up showing everyone about Steemit and Crypto for roughly 15 mins unscripted.

Thanks again for the good comments today, I had to laugh when I saw the title of this blog based on my story there.

PS if you want to create some separation btw your bolded / larger font and the lines below use 4 dashes in a row


btw those lines. It will help if you like that

That is a good tip. Seems like I can never fully get the hang of this markup stuff. Thanks.

I have read this twice and I am bookmarking this in my folder as a resource.

You just make so much sense with your whole Q and A format here, this is a gem of a post.

I am not the biggest tech, I actually asked some of these types of questions to the Linux group last year.

Again, thanks.

Really good job here.

Wow. I really appreciate that. I love Linux; it is what brought me down the rabbit hole to liberty. I sincerely think it is a valuable part of liberty and I hope you give it a try. There are geeks all over willing to help you if you need it, including me of course.

Thank you very much.

Yeah why not. I take a look at it. thanks for the post.

Right on! I think you will like it.

i never ever tried that its open source but still i prefer other simple to use things

The devil you know...

I used to muck about with stuff inveterately, and have a pile of bricked phones as 'Good Hacker Awards' to prove it. I set up my first network in 1987 with CP/M. Then I started spawning, and time to muck about became scarce.

As a confirmed curmudgeon, I find it has become my habit to 'set it and forget it', leaving me reticent - afeared really - to undertake the learning curve (and the threat of a bricked laptop) required to move to Linux.

I am actually intent on acquiring a second computer so that the threat of a brick doesn't boot me offline, without tunes, news, or an outlet for my incessant rants. That's really all that's keeping me from Linux. I am seeking a second box I can spend Steem on, and then I prolly will do it.

Thanks for the nudge in the right direction!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81