Pop-Up Police

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

6833e026-ecd7-4a42-b4b6-cfea5f044083.jpeg


Got chills when I saw this POP-UP POLICE STATION 🚔👮🏻‍♂️ in a Chetumal parking lot yesterday. Is this prevalent??

It reminds me of that creepy Jack-in-a-Box game... but scarier.

Or a dark 'life' guard tower.

I know the appearance or cover is likely: "Ensuring safety for shoppers, and minimizing theft."

And maybe even toss in a side narrative of location-agility, with a savings to tax-prey...

But I mostly see in this an ever-encroaching state PRESENCE that makes me feel more watched and surveilled, than cared for and protected.

To be clear, the police-pause I feel today, comes from painful observations of police brutality in the U.S. for so many years.

My gut reaction to this pop-up in Mexico, imported the insta-distrust that arose in me.🙅🏽‍♀️

Even with daily mental reconditioning, the nervous system REMEMBERS...


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I find that scary looking, in a weird sort of sci-fi way. I keep expecting it to have Star Wars-like legs, and to start walking around the neighborhood, like some giant robot.

Very unnerving.

@denmarkguy, YOU NAILED IT!! 🎯 Yes... dystopic cyborg robo-cop. On hydraulic stilts.

Whoa, that's really freaky and bizarre. It looks like an 80's version of what a future police state would resemble; comical, dated, and slightly disturbing all at once.

But hey, I guess it's better than how police in the US shield their appearance, disguising themselves in order to catch a crime in action, which is usually just an unfortunate codebreaker not paying attention to petty traffic laws.

So the whole platform has to come down for them to get out?
What if someone jammed, say, a log into the mechanism so that the legs couldn’t fold up?
Not that I can imagine why anyone would do such a thing.

Ha, all very good questions! Maybe they just act as a spotter for another cop nearby?

The whole operation seems rather silly :)

followed, upvoted
Didn't I see you on Anarchast some time ago?

I hope you don't mind if I use your popularity to spread some anarchy?

https://steemit.com/anarchy/@evolutionnow/what-is-capitalism-what-is-non-anarchy

That is CREEPY !!
@erikaharris
Did you see this yet ???
Not sure if you got your airdrop yet. Free crypto. You are eligible for $80. You get $40 now and $40 in a year. Let me know if you need a hand.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@punqtured/official-byteball-airdrop-to-steemians

No, I hadn't seen that. Thanks, @stokjockey! Will check out :-)

these pop up in Walmart parking lots around Christmas time in the states. Weird as heck. Not sure why they put them up.

Interesting. Thanks for sharing what you've seen, @fictargraphics!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83