Abandoning the meekness of a slave

in #anarchy6 years ago

pols_feature3-1.jpg

Today I got into a political discussion with a peer as I do quite often. My peer was telling me all about how the federal government is a necessity. I calmly tried different levels of approach in my argument that carried considerable logic. When my peer didn't know how to argue back, he just scoffed and came up with some other point. I tried to find the middle ground and work from there. He just ended up getting another peer nearby to join in on talking over me. I held my composure so as to maintain the high ground as I waded through one logical fallacy (including ad hominems) after the other. I had no success.

On my drive back home today I put on some music and started thinking about what I could have said or done better. And then something strange happened. I realized that I was casting pearls before swine.

I'm generally a pleasant guy to be around. I try to make people feel better and walk on eggshells around people that I know can't take my normal veteran self. I think this is why I don't succeed in opening the minds around me.

The Dunning-Kruger effect tells us that (in my own angry words) dumb people think that they are smarter and more competent than they are. They suffer from arrogance, are self assured, and have a good amount of confidence. Conversely, smart people generally assume that other people are as smart as they are. They suffer from self-doubt, a lack of confidence, and the need to check themselves.

dunning-kruger-effect.png

When we try to talk with people that are confident in their arrogance, we make the mistake that if we form our logic well enough, they will understand. After all, if we gain understanding by listening to sound logic, facts and evidence... they will too, right? This just won't happen.

I say we stop with the pandering. We stop with the desperate attempts of explaining things to people that do not want to listen. Our time could be used for those that are on the fence, instead. As the saying goes, "those that argue with idiots become idiots themselves."

Most likely, you, dear reader, have shed your chains of slavery. You've reconsidered all the propaganda that has been shoved in your heads during public school. You've faced up to your cognitive dissonance. While it's scary as hell to know that a powerful government harms you, you've taken your head out of the sand and stared back into its cold dull eyes with vitriolic determination.

You have earned the right to not be a slave. You've denied your fears and determined that you will be free no matter the cost. So now, you are not a slave. The slaves are beneath you. I say we act like it.

spartans.jpeg

-@iamthenerd

Sort:  

today slavery is quite vague to understand for the average people, the rulers provided them with a comfort zone and they didn't realized comfort zone is a trap until it's too late for them to change, consider the example of boiling frog experiment.

I suggest larken Rose's Candles in the Dark talks.

The thing is, you will never change someone's feelings on a matter with logic. Especially not right away.

They need to be given more facts, and then allowed time to process them.

I mean, if we all worked on facts, the Infernal Revolting Syndicate and the nonFederal noReserves Bankcartel would be a smouldering pile of rubble. Just for their KNOWN evil things they have done. Still most 'mericans will say they are a necessary evil.

But, then there is the step beyond this.
Like adopting crypto-currencies. Burning down the banks would have been great, however, it just delays the inevitable. Switching to cryptos utterly destroys banks, and all bank-like practices. In 20 years, it will be easier to find 8 track tapes then it will to find a bank.

When talking to people, just remember you are planting seeds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76