two kinds of anarchists

in #anarchy6 years ago

As I build my communities online, I have found an interesting trend with anarchists. One kind is beneficial to the anarchist movement of abandoning "Big Brother" and becoming independent, free, and prosperous (in more ways then just money). These beneficial anarchists project their energy outwards and change the world to freedom with their words, thoughts, and actions.

django.jpeg

The other kind of anarchist seeks self glorification. Instead of attacking those that wish to enslave us, they attack those anarchists that are trying to free us. The hate that other anarchists are getting attention for their ideas and drive. These unbeneficial anarchists don't respond by creating ideas of their own... instead they try to tear down the beneficial anarchists for attention. They aren't trying to change the world so much as obtain pats on the back.

thismutha2.jpeg

If you're anything like me, you're probably asking yourself which one you are. Here's the thing. It's fine if not BENEFICIAL to criticize other anarchists... IF... you are doing your part to help as well. It's when you spend your time trolling others and nitpicking their plans to cast off chains, but you are actually just a keyboard warrior yourself that causes the problems. As anarchists, we aren't normally collectivists. We aren't known to be followers. Yet, there is a big difference between not following and hindering. There's a difference between debating essential concepts (logos) and trying to throw out a baby with the bathwater over something you don't fully understand for your ego (usually pathos).

djangofriends.jpeg

I encourage all of my anarchist brothers and sisters to lead and get done what needs getting done. If you are where I was a few months ago of wanting to do something about the shitty situation we are all in instead of JUST being a keyboard warrior (don't get me wrong, we need keyboard warriors too), you can help with your wallet and/or you can help with your time. To maximize your effort in changing this world, it helps to have the momentum of a movement behind you. That movement exists.

I guess I'm just asking that whatever you want to do to add to the throwing off of our chains, please do... but don't try to throw a monkey wrench in things just because you want some attention.

-@iamthenerd

Sort:  

Very well said, couldn't agree more. There's something wrong with a principle that rationalizes working against the greater good of humanity.

What makes sense to me is attacking the state from every angle possible.

Vice_Squeeze_State.png

A-fucking-men! If you spend your time attacking voluntaryists then you’re doing the statists’ work for them.

Troll the statists.

Not if by attacking you mean criticizing errors, flaws or misconceptions, which oddly you can only do if you are also doing something beneficial, but that couldn't be beneficial in it of itself. Most anarchists regurgitate memes like Taxes are Robbery and pay taxes because they won't listen to anything that says taxes are voluntary or you elect to pay them, they are the ones that actually are supporting the state, the statist themselves.

Having a different opinion is great, but constantly tearing down people who are theoretically on your side is another. Personally, I think what Rand Paul and others in the GOP are doing to push libertarian ideas is a losing strategy, but I will not tear them down or troll their pages. When they do good, I will praise them, when they make mistakes, I will point them out, but they are trying to work for freedom. My time is better spent actively working to make a stateless society a reality, rather than telling others they are doing it wrong. The Voluntary God, has not visited me and proclaimed me always right, I will take any criticism that makes my arguement stronger. Divide and Conquer is the States favorite tactic and it gives me pause when a loud mouthed Anarchist throws shit and does not give any solutions. Maybe his agenda is not what he or she claims it is.

Critique is quite often the solution in it of itself, the fact that I have to spoon feed people who'd rather accuse than question and dismiss when confronted doesn't mean I will.

I don't think you read my comment and you want to respond to me and what I had to say by calling critiques as troll if they don't come hand in hand with "solutions", it's the same rhetoric of "don't say nothing if you have nothing nice to say", well tough tittes, you can call it trolling, you can dismiss it as "negative" or whatever bullshit "tearing people down" you want to call it but it won't make the critique any less valid or stop it from coming up, again and again. To say that critique is "divide and conquer", like you want to say what I said is opinion or that I bought up value judgments like the post has and nonsense. Why should I even explain anything to you when you've done nothing to address anything I said and tried actually to dismiss what I said as some opinion? I could "tear apart" your whole argument and expose all the nonsense but why waste my time when you've no intention of having a discussion but only interested in telling me what you think about people and what people's agenda might be.

REGARDLESS of agenda, if you use the argument that Taxation is Theft and you keep paying taxes, you are a statis by deed, regardless of your words, pretty simple no, and you'd call it tearing it down to point out hypocrisy because with your mouth you can say one thing and with your hand do otherwise.

What you did is brilliant explaining your writing while posting some pictures and gifs of Django Unchained easily made me understand of what you are trying to say. It really helped me as I have seen the movie as well.

Thanks! I love the movie and as I was thinking up the post, my subconscious kept offering up scenes of this fantastic movie. So I figured I'd add it in :)

Well said! I just wish more anarchist types of all colors felt this way.

Well said! I just wish
More anarchist types of all
Colors felt this way.

                 - steelrage


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Cooperation over competition always. Stronger together bro!

This makes me think of that scene in the Holy Grail where they're calling each other 'splitters'. You're so right, some people dedicate their time to criticizing others on how their school of thought isn't right when our underlying philosophy is the same. Each person's means to the end goal are different, and just because we think our 'means' are right for us, doesn't mean someone else's are wrong.

I encourage all of my anarchist brothers and sisters to lead and get done what needs getting done.

I love this. Just get it done! @yvesoler and I were discussing this the other day. Just do the right thing because it's the right thing to do, not because you want a medal or a lollipop. Just get it done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66