CURIOUS KATIE - Episode 8

in #anarchy6 years ago

Katie is curious, so she asks questions, and gets surprisingly honest answers from her parents.

Scene 1   

Katie has just woken up and greets her mom in the kitchen.    

Mom:  Good morning, Katie.    
Katie (drowsy):  Morning, mom.    

Mom:  Do you know what today is?
Katie:  Tuesday?

Mom:  Yes, that’s right.  But it’s also a home day!
Katie (ecstatic):  A home day! Hooray! I get to stay home from school!

Mom:  That’s right, dear.  No indoctrination center today.  It’s the ninth and final one you’re allowed this semester.
Katie:  Why am I only allowed nine again?

Mom:  So the authoritarian control freaks don’t fail you and force you to redo the semester.
Katie:  Ahhhh, right.  I forgot.    

Mom:  So your dad already left for work, and I have to go soon.  Do you have anything in particular you think you might do today?

Katie:  I dunno.  You know me, mom.  I’ll think of somethin.    
Mom (warm smile):  I know you will, dear.

Scene 2

Late in the afternoon, Katie’s dad gets back to the house first.

Dad:  Hey Katie!

Katie:  Hi, Dad!   
Dad:  It was a home day, right?

Katie:  Yep! Wanna hear what I did?
Dad:  I can’t wait!

Katie:  I watched TV all day.
Dad:  Ha ha, very funny.

Katie:  You won’t fall for that one again, huh?
Dad:  Nope.

Katie (walks to the fridge, opens, and grabs pitcher) So I made some lemonade. Want some?
Dad:  Sure!

Katie:  How much?
Dad:  That pitcher looks about the right size.

Katie (annoyed look):  Dad…..

Mom walks in.

Katie:  Mom, want some lemonade I made?
Mom:  Sure, dear.  But how did you make lemonade? I think we only had one lemon in the fridge.

Katie:  I’m glad you asked.  I built a rocket and flew to a lemon grove…...Just kidding! So I saw we only had one lemon, but I really wanted to try this new lemonade recipe. (hands glass to dad) Can you tell the secret ingredient?

Dad (tasting):  Hmmmm, I think it’s garlic!
Katie:  Dad! Get real!

Dad:  Ok, not garlic.  Must be cinnamon.

Katie:  Yep! (hands glass to mom) So anyway, about the lemons.  I went over to Mrs. Highhill’s house to see if she had some lemons.  So I made a deal with her to get some lemons.

Mom:  What was the deal, dear?
Katie:  I told her I’d give her a glass of lemonade and a bottle of natural, homemade shampoo.

Dad:  But we don’t have any shampoo like that, do we?

Katie:  Well, we didn’t, but ya see, I had seen instructions on how to make coconut shampoo online, so I figured I wanted to make it anyway, and then I’d just trade some of that for the lemons.

Mom:  Quite the business sense you’ve got, dear.    
Dad:  So did you make the coconut shampoo?

Katie (hands on hips):  Sheesh! Patience is a virtue, ya know.  I’m getting to it.    

Mom and dad chuckle.    

Katie:  So I had all the ingredients to make the shampoo, except for one.  So I went to Mr. Blinger’s house to see if he had any coconut milk to trade me. 

Mom:  And what did you trade?

Katie:  Dad, you’ve gotta cut his grass this weekend.
Dad:  What?!

Katie:  Just kidding! No, I just told him what I needed it for, and he said he’d take a bottle of the shampoo as an even trade.  Anyway, I made the shampoo.   

Mom:  How’d it turn out, dear?
Katie:  Smell my hair!

Mom sniffs hair, face lights up.    

Mom:  That’s wonderful, dear.  I’ll have to give that a try.

Katie:  So I was thinking, maybe I could sell the shampoo.  And I found a recipe for natural foot powder, too.  Ya know, for feet like yours, dad, that itch a lot and smell funny.

Dad (sighing):  Yes, dear.    
Katie:  And I can make that and sell that, too.  I could do all sorts of natural products!

Mom:  That’s great, dear! Yes, you could do that here in the neighborhood.  Anything more than that and we’d probably have to get a license.

Katie:  Oh, brother.  What’s a license again?
Dad:  It’s a violently imposed permission slip from the government gang, remember?

Katie:  Oh, sheesh! That’s right, I remember.  Well, I’ll start out in the neighborhood and see how it goes.   

Mom:  That’s a great idea, dear.  I’m proud of you.  Hopefully uniformed order-followers won’t show up and ruin it.

Dad:  Wait, I just thought of a crafty way to maybe avoid getting extorted for a permission slip! Instead of buying or selling, you could take donations! If someone donates something to you, then you offer a "free gift" in return.

Mom:  That's quite clever, dear.

Katie:  Great! Can I give it a shot?

Mom:  Of course you can, dear.  What would you like to accept in return for the donations? You could take a digital currency like Steem or Zcash.

Katie:  Yeah, I'll do that, mom.  But I'll take trade offers, too.  Like the ones I got from the neighbors today!  I could end up with all sorts of stuff!

Dad:  Yeah, maybe someone can cut our grass.  Katie, will you also take U.S. dollars?

Katie:  I'll try and avoid it.

Mom:  Very good, dear. Do you remember what U.S. dollars actually are?

Katie:  Yeah, they're violence-backed fraud notes.  I don't like violence or fraud, so that's why I'll try and avoid them.  

Mom:  I'm very proud of you, Katie.  You're a good girl.

Katie:  You know what else I am?

Mom:  What's that, dear?

Katie:  Hungry.  Can we have dinner now?

https://draxe.com/coconut-oil-for-hair/ 

Thanks for your time and attention!

Just say "NO" to slavery!

Top image is from pixabay

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hahahahah Love it - You rock! Way t' be!

"violence-backed fraud notes" just struck me so funny... Hahahhahaha "fraud notes"... Oh man... it's laugh or cry, my friend, laugh or cry.

LOL, thanks. Yeah, laugh or cry about sums it up pretty frequently in this "society".

LOL nice one, i have fucking tears in my eyes.

This family seems happy and together while "normal" ones all seem a little fucked up. I'd like to read a curious Kathy who's family is "normal" one day then suddenly starts telling the truth....

Hmmmm, interesting idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79