10/10 ANDY HOFFMAN: CryptoGoldCentral.com, Mission Statement and Business Model

in #andyhoffman6 years ago

For 15 years, I championed everything Precious Metal-related – from mining stocks, to bullion, to their potential role in a future, non-fiat dominated monetary system. I put my money where my mouth was, in every aspect – from being fully-invested in the sector, to being employed in it…and believing with all my heart that gold and silver would be the monetary saviors of the future.

However, that changed when Bitcoin arrived - first slowly, and then like an out-of-control freight train; as 1) Precious Metals showed signs of losing their monetary value, and 2) the scaling debate victory – and subsequent surge above a $100 billion market cap – put Bitcoin on the map as a potentially dominant inflation-protection, safe haven, and transactional asset. Consequently, I went from being 0% invested in Bitcoin at the end of 2015, to 100% by the end of 2017 – all, at the expense of Precious Metals.

Simultaneously, I realized my days in the Precious Metal industry were numbered – which led to leaving the bullion business in August 2017, and starting CryptoGoldCentral.com a month later. At first, the thought of operating my own business – for the first time, at age 47 – was scary. However, it has turned out to be extremely rewarding, in every conceivable way.

It launched September 10th, 2017 – coincidentally, the day the Chinese crypto exchange ban occurred, causing Bitcoin to plunge right out of the gate. Fortunately, Charlie Lee appeared that day on my first 1-on-1 episode…the first of 54 - which shortly after launch, became part of the World Crypto Network.

Due to rapidly changing market conditions, and trial and error, CGC’s business model has changed numerous times in the past 13 months. Initially, it was intended to solely be a subscription-based blog, focused on Bitcoin and Precious Metals. However, I was in the process of selling my silver as CGC launched - and a few months later, sold my gold, too. Fortunately, “CryptoGoldCentral” still works as a name – as since launching, care of a rapidly evolving view of Bitcoin, I’ve become the world’s biggest gold-hater!

When the site launched, Bitcoin went on an historic run – from roughly $3,500, to $20,000 by the middle of December. Consequently, demand for crypto consultations exploded – particularly, setting up Trezors. This was something I had not anticipated; and thus, I added it on as a service offering. However, when crypto prices peaked, consultation demand plunged – as did blog subscriptions. Which, I had learned, were nearly all from “old school” types - as opposed to Millennials and Gen Zs, who get essentially all their information from free sources, like Twitter and, increasingly in the crypto world, Steemit.

Thus, I decided to make the blog free – and post my content, on Twitter and Steemit. I have found these media to be extremely powerful communicative tools – but of course, they don’t pay the bills. Steemit can actually be quite lucrative in good times – but not lately, given the weak crypto market conditions.

Additionally, I added crypto consultations for altcoin developers to my product offering. Fortunately, I can afford to be discerning – to the point that I haven’t yet accepted a client, despite having many offers. To that end, the only altcoin I have openly supported (other than Steem, which I recently made a small purchase of) is the soon-to-be-launched airdrop BRhodium - which in my view, will be one of the top altcoins of 2019. Those who follow me know I have become increasingly bullish about the altcoin sector in general – not broadly, but for those coins like BRhodium and Steem, that I believe to have sustainable, defensible use cases. NOTHING can approach Bitcoin’s monetary dominance, but in the emerging Digital Age, altcoins will play a major role - creating niche applications and taking market share from archaic asset classes like stocks, bonds, and fiat currencies.

First and foremost, what drives CGC is my goal of converting as many investors to Bitcoin HODLers as possible. Bitcoin is the future of money – and by far, the crypto with the best reward/risk trade-off. Thus, no matter what I say or do personally, I will continue to focus my “recommendation” on Bitcoin HODLing in offline hardware wallets - based on my “call” that BTC will be the best investment class of the next decade…and perhaps, beyond.

Please follow my work at CryptoGoldCentral.com - or obtain information about my consulting services, for both individuals and altcoin developers. Or find it at Steemit, at andyhoffman; or on Twitter, at @andy_hoffman_cg – where I seek to educate “10 percenters” on how the legacy and crypto markets are acting, and changing, in the dawn of the Digital Age. Thanks for your support, and I look forward to working together toward our common goal of Bitcoin leadership for decades to come!

Sort:  

I don't understand how Bitcoin becomes the future of money if everyone HODL's. In order to change the world of money we need to transact using Bitcoin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11