Animal suffering.

in #animal6 years ago



Taking animal suffering seriously seems to imply that the righteous course of action is - just as soon as we can - to euthanize all animals now living in the wild.

A sketch of the argument: We have a duty to prevent suffering when it is possible. But unbelievable suffering happens whenever we allow nature to take its usual course. Soon, however, we will not require nature to take its course at all. We will be able to live without it. Engineering friendly animals, as recommended by Charles Fourier, would take centuries longer than extermination, and during that time, animals would continue to suffer. The right thing to do then will be to dismantle the entire suffering, misery-ridden ecosystem and replace it with machines that maintain livable conditions for humans, while neither inflicting misery nor experiencing it.

(Note: I don't actually endorse this argument. I raise it because I think it challenges some widely shared beliefs.)

#foodforthought

Sort:  

Charles Fourier is obviously a moron. Animals are meant to be wild. Billions of years of evolution have allowed animals to adapt to the harsh environment. A better idea for the planet would be to euthanize all people rather than our lovely animal friends. I am sad and embarrassed to admit that under my blueberry costume I am a homo sapien.

sad-monkey-face-hi.png

speaking of food, my baby cousin said we can take the fat of the animal and use it for food without killing it.
i think that's a good idea.

How is that not cruel? Fat is also very unhealthy. Eat some blueberries, chump.

you can take the fat from the cream. fat is not very unhealthy, that's a myth like the earth is flat. I love blueberries in lots of cream.

I talked to a lady about it yesterday and she said that the problem is with breeding the animals because then the farmers are left with all these males that they do not know what to do with.

I told her what if we just wait until they die of natural causes and then we can eat them? I don't know, i just don't like the idea of taking a life.

Great working

Could you kindly elaborate your point. I looked at your channel, I think your name is false advertising.

I strongly support your opinion because your opinion is very true and clear and one of my last sayings
I salute what you say-@honeybee.

Did you read the note at the end of the post.

(Note: I don't actually endorse this argument. I raise it because I think it challenges some widely shared beliefs.)

Not @honeybee's opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25