Strolling Through Live Butterflies

in #animal5 years ago (edited)

yellow nice.JPG

We pushed through the dangling plastic strips of the makeshift door to enter the solarium's tropical climate, now maintained at 25C (77°F) and 65% humidity. Several of these doorways kept the climate and butterflies inside, and a fan near the last one prevented escapees.

For a second winter, the Canadian Museum of Nature has brought back this very popular exhibit of live butterflies in a tropical setting. It is so popular, they advise you to book your visiting time on-line.

IMG_6938.JPG

Wandering slowly along the paths surrounded by vegetation, we gawked at the kaleidoscope of butterfly colors all around.

Throughout the atrium, small bowls and feeders held tropical fruit and clusters of butterflies fluttered around them.

bowl 2.JPG

Before we entered, we had been given the rules. Walk slowly; no touching the butterflies; watch where you walk; they may land on you and that's okay; you may blow on them to remove them if they bother you; the assistants will remove stubborn ones for you.

That's how I came to be walking around with a butterfly on my rump for 10 minutes! I wasn't the only one.

bum and feeder.png

When taking their photos, some butterflies cooperated more than others. They were practically posing for the camera. The one on the feeder above and below is a Tiger longwing.

orange 1.JPG

There were 23 species listed on the butterfly chart but what type is this? If I could find it, I labeled it for you here.

pink stripes.JPG

The Thoas swallowtails, below, were real camera hogs. Here is another one.

swallowtail.JPG

white and yellow.JPG

The blue morphos were fast. They either fluttered around quickly flashing their iridescent blue wings or landed to feed and immediately folded them. Sometimes you could just catch a glimpse of the blue.

blue morpho underside 2.JPG

Finally, one of them stopped on a wall to rest.

blue morpho 1.JPG

Many of the butterflies tried to find some sun near the windows. This next one is a beautiful Malachite.

green on window sill.JPG

A Whitened bluewing.

blue 1.JPG

Another Malachite, below.

yellow green 2.JPG

Butterflies hid amongst the foliage and often had camouflage coloring.

nice owl 1.JPG

There certainly was variety.

red feeder 7.JPG

This next one was my favorite. I have identified it as another Malachite.

green beauty.JPG

One of the last ones I photographed was the Monarch.

Monarch.JPG

And then we left the room, stopping at the full length mirror to make sure no butterflies were hitchiking on us. We went out through the last doorway but there was still more to see.

This special exhibit runs at the Canadian Museum of Nature until April 2019.

Now wait a second, how can they do that when
the average butterfly has a lifespan of 2 weeks?

Well, every few weeks, a shipment of butterfly pupae arrives from Costa Rica. Two farms there supply all the butterflies you see, however, there is some news.


The people at the museum noticed holes in the Mexican Milkweed - caterpillars!

The Monarch butterflies had laid eggs that had hatched. The tiny young caterpillars were moved to their own display case where they are protected and where you can watch them feeding on milkweed and see the metamorphosis from caterpillar to chrysalis to butterfly.




Below are 2 Monarch butterfly chrysalises. 24 hours before the butterfly emerges, these will change from the greenish color and become transparent.

Monarch chrysalis 4.JPG

References

Butterflies in Flight, Canadian Museum of Nature special exhibit

Images

Photos from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

I hope you enjoyed my stroll through the butterflies.
@kansuze

Sort:  

Amazing butterfly shots, wow, just love it.

My favorite photo is the one with the butterfly sitting on the pocket of the jeans. SO sososo coooool!

We were ushered in and shortly afterwards they started landing on people. It was great fun!

You really got some great shots here. I went to something like this at the San Diego zoo once and it felt like magic. It is so much easier to see these beautiful creatures when they cannot fly far away. But I did not get such wonderful photos though. They were still moving too fast.

Thank you! I ended up with over 50 photos plus a bunch with blue blurs.

Haha! I only got the blurs.

Hi kansuze,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!

I love butterflies as well. But never have a close up with butterflies before. So many species butterflies you have photographed. Did the museum provided any catalogue on how many species were in the museum and original from where? In my country, we do have butterfly museum, but we cannot get close like you do. And most of it only specimens. If I have chance, hope I able to visit a museum like the one you share.

It really an opener for me on the Monarch butterfly chrysalises. It so different than I saw and imagine.

Your favourite also my favourite, I like how the color match the leafs color. It so beautiful. This museum open daily or weekend only.

There were 23 species. They came from Costa Rica but I don't know if they were all native to Costa Rica.

You manage to see all the species? Hope you managed to photograph all the species. How i hope i can fly there and have a photo with them:(

No, I didn't find them all and they would not sit still for me! lol

lol.. they must be fly away when you close by. They sense it. When you took the picture, you need to act like an invisible woman so that they won‘t fly away lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just bought a camera with a better zoom. Next time, I will use it!

Yay!! Now I waiting for your next post on the butterflies. Maybe you can picnic there together with the butterflies if the museum allow it. I am jealous now.

I don't think that is possible. lol

Dear @kansuze,

Thank you for supporting our tag #archisteem. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Do drop by and take a look :)

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thank you!

You are most welcome @kansuze!

What a great display of beautiful butterflies!

I have visited a similar (but much smaller) place in Krakow. First, I wasn't really happy to go there as at the end of the day they were a caterpillar before and I didn't feel comfortable having them all over me. BUT it was a great experience! I loved it. They are so peaceful and they also like to show off their beauty. They didn't tell us that it was prohibited to touch them but I didn't there to do it as I was afraid to hurt them. They look so fragile.

It looks like they liked you a lot as they were hanging out on you :) I like Malachite the most. I don't remember that I would ever see a green butterfly. So interesting :)

And it's great that you got a chance to experience their life cycle and see different stages of their development. It's a great place for kids to learn something about the nature.

Thank you for sharing. It was my pleasure to join you on your visit :)

You're welcome.

Wow! Lots of beautiful butterflies! Thank you for sharing this.

¡Hola @kansuze! El post esta ¡Bellísimo! Con esa gran colección de mariposas, nunca he estado en un Solárium de mariposa, me reí un poco con tu mariposa en el trasero, son muy hermosas, amigables y frágiles, dicen que cuando se te acerca, una mariposa azul, es tu Ángel de la Guarda que te protege, cuéntame ¿Cómo te sentiste, con tu voto Curie? ¿Es tu primer voto? Un fuerte y cariñoso abrazo.

¡Hola @celinavisaez! I am glad you liked my post. That's nice about the blue butterflies being Guardian Angels and there were quite a few! I loved the Curie hug! No, it wasn't my first but it is very much appreciated.

Just now, I posted a video of the butterflies feeding so please check it out too.

Gracias por tu respuesta @kansuze, buscare tu video para tratar de verlo, mi internet es muy malo, los videos demoran en cargar, o nunca cargan, sigue disfrutando, que sigan los éxitos, un beso.

Hello @kansuze, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank You!

An interesting assortment of species. I'd love to go to this place and just pick out what to draw. It's amazing how several beautiful patterns could come out from a plain caterpillar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07