African Millipede at the MuseumsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #animal5 years ago (edited)

worm.JPG

When I went to see the Butterfly Exhibit at the Canadian Museum of Nature, I did a very quick tour of the rest of the museum with a visiting relative. So while I took photos, I wasn't meticulous with my documentation. Sorry about that - I like to identify what I am posting. Going by memory, I believe this one is a worm from Africa, a very big worm.

Update: Thank you to @nikv for identifying the African millipede, a Songololos.

The photo was taken through the glass wall of its well lit display case. I understand wildlife photography isn't usually this easy!

References

Canadian Museum of Nature

Images

Photos from the iPad of @kansuze, Canadian Museum of Nature, Ottawa, Canada

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Excellent photo!
I also recently made their photo in nature.
And my centipedes were one upon the other.
But when I started taking photos, they curled up.

It's actually an arthropod: a millipede. They are African and very common over here. We call them Songololos. They enjoy munching on plant roots but they aren't usually too destructive

Thank you! I updated the post. These are the sort of creatures that would take the fun out of running barefoot through the garden. lol

They are actually sweet and harmless, they curl into a little spiral anytime they feel threatened

Little? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78