THE TALE OF THE MYSTERY RABBIT

in #animal6 years ago

This is something that we never expected!


What do you do when you are watching someone's animals and another one suddenly shows up out of nowhere? Interestingly enough, that is what just happened to us while caring for the livestock of @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood.

MYSTERY RABBIT VLOG

WHAT HAPPEND?

While taking care of the rabbits on the homestead of @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood, a mystery bunny suddenly showed up out of nowhere. This was a tiny bunny that we had never seen before. Since it was already covered in fur, and since its eyes were open, we knew that it could not be a newborn... Also, it was colored just like a wild rabbit. A quick phone call to @bluerthangreen did not give us any info on this mystery rabbit. We were confused and puzzled. Had a young wild rabbit made its way into the cage?

After some thinking, I figured that one of the does must have had a litter some time ago inside one of the burrows that they made. We stopped back down to explore, and sure enough, we could see something small and fuzzy down in the depths of one of the holes!

Always quick to be helpful, Pinkie-Pepper was soon arm-deep in the hole, feeling around for another baby rabbit. Thankfully, her effort paid off!

There was a litter of baby bunnies down in the burrow! The wild color of the first one we found just happened to match that of the native rabbits in the area! Now the mystery was solved, and the young bunny was indeed right at home.

As it turns out, there was quite a bit of color variation in this litter of rabbits too! Some were white, grey, black, and wild colored. We didn't try to evacuate the whole nest, so who knows how many there are or what other colors or patterns there might be. Soon, others will probably make their way out, so time will tell! Mystery solved, and it was a fun one!


MORE?

Also, if you want to see some more photos from this adventure, check out the post from the @little-peppers!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-mystery-rabbit

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

When I was about 9 and growing up on our farm we had a beautiful golden retriever named Daisy. She had a heart of gold, too and one day she found a rabbit hole out in one of our fields. The mother was nowhere to be found so Daisy decided to bring the babies to our back porch. The first one was tiny and we did not see it in her mouth. We were petting her and all of a sudden she opens her mouth and lays it on the porch. We were so surprised and my mother immediately began to give it some warm milk out of an old baby bottle. My sister and I thought it was so cool and we were excited about having a new pet. About 10 minutes later, Daisy brought us another one and of course same scenario enfolds. My Dad was in the vicinity working on his tractor and he heard our co-motion. He came to see what was happening and he saw Daisy running out to the field again. He called her back and that's when he said to put Daisy back in the pen with the other bird dogs. I was confused and asked why. He then informed me that if I didn't put her up she would bring all of the babies and we did not have room for them. We took care of the two for a month and let them back out in the wild. I always wondered if they survived...

Wow! What a cool story! Glad that those two that you took care of made it to release.

Thank you @papa-pepper. Glad you enjoyed the story.

lol! hey @mantishands this is a great story also, great job!

Thanks @janton!

you're very welcome! say ..that username you have is pretty unusual, do you like Praying Mantises or is there another reason you chose that name?

It's a combination of things. I practice the basics of a martial art called Jook Lum which is a mantis form. I'm also a very spiritual person who enjoys praying and many years ago I was out on the farm and I caught a Chinese praying mantis with my bare hands. I had never seen one before and I can only guess that it migrated here on a shipping vessel and somehow made it to Tennessee

howdy back @mantishands! good to see you. Well sir, so the Chinese Mantis is only supposed to be in China? and you are in Tennessee, what a wonderful state, it's one that I've thought of moving to, like their conservatism and the place is growing economically isn't it?

when you say very spiritual, what type of faith, Christian?

Hi @janton, thanks for your message.
Yes, it's an invasive species. I think some were released for pest control by the government, as well. Tennessee is a great State and you're right it is very conservative and the economy is booming. There's lots of opportunities here and the gun laws are fair, also. I am a Christian, though I'm a bit on the unorthodox side. I grew up in the Methodist church but as I've gotten older I've gravitated towards Anglicanism and the Hebrew Roots movement. I also really like the mentality of Zen Buddhism and enjoy reading about it. You?

howdy again @mantishands! I'm a Christian and one of those crazy charasmatic, tongue talkin, faith healin radicals..so I don't fit too well either in most churches in fact most churches would throw me out because I believe the Bible! lol

what about that martial art that you mentioned, is that to keep in shape with or are you more dedicated than that?

That is the cutest I have seen today.
Bravo !
They are so innocent and loving to hold.
Life is beautiful.
Thanks for sharing.
Keep on entertainin'

Cute rabbits...:)...

they're multiplying like rabbits!

This is what i call unexpected blessings Papa. I really admire the strength and courage of Pinky!.

Today is Monday and it is #ManCrushMonday. I am making you my #ManCrush for today sir. I will get on the post soon. I hope you like it. Hahaha

What a wonderful story. Pinkie-Pepper looks so happy having found those cute babies.

Blessing and gift of your family. your children are so happy to care the rabbits. you has planted yor spirit in their soul I pray for them and your family. GBU

So small and adorable!!

Rabbits are good at multiplying.

@papa-pepper "The Rabbit Whisperer"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73