Thanks to the Amphibians I got a shot

It's been raining cats and dogs here for the past five days. The weather has been really dull these last one week. Taking good photographs with natural light has almost been impossible. And no thanks to the rains, we are confined indoors. So it was a great joy when I saw this heaven sent toad jumped across the walkway just as I was about entering my car. My Kodak AZ252 Bridge camera came in handy. And the result is what you see below.

100_1071.jpg

If I remember correctly, this toad specie is known as bufo regularis. The warty back toad. The master of camouflage. It can blend easily with the surrounding making it impossible for it to be spotted.

Toads are creatures that love water so we tend to see them after rains especially in the evenings near light sources feeding on insects that have been attracted to the lights.

Froged Leaves 2.jpg

The second picture (above) is a small frog I shot sometime back and I include it here because I am writing about Amphibians.

So these are my contributions to the Animal Photography contest theme for today

Sort:  

What cool shots, I like frogs but never get this close these days, not as many in WA as there was in QLD.

Contrast on the second pic is really nice. This frog is almost like on the screen...above it :D

some of toad species are poisonous in this type of season so be careful my friend @abbiephoto

Thanks @jannatehimachal, I am quite aware of that. Thanks for the caution words.

I love frogs! We get quite a few round here, but not pretty ones like the bottom photo. Well, I say not pretty -- I think all frogs are pretty awesome.

Thanks @camuel. Frogs are pretty but toads are generally err.. not that pretty.

what an amazing shot of a frog! well done @abbiephoto, I love the second photo too

Thanks @claudiaz. Much grateful for your support and encouragement given to me and others in the group. You are appreciated.

you are very welcome @abbiephoto, we appreciate your active participation as well.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @alvinauh to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

It beats Roden's Thinker :)

Great photos! In what part of the world they were taken?

In Nigeria. Nigeria is in the tropics. The southern part fall in the geographic Tropical Rain Forest Zone.

Thanks! Wanted to know where those species came from; in Nigeria you won't be short of reptiles and amphibians probably :) Again, great photos!

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

If you would like to stop receiving comments then reply!STOP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75