Watching the Sunset

in #animalphotography6 years ago

Over the past week or so, I have been tearing apart the deck on the back of our house (I will post on that another time). One evening after getting started tearing up the boards, my dog Jovi and I took a minute to enjoy the sunset before we headed in for the night.


IMG_20180507_190734.jpg


You can really see the white starting to spread on her snout in this picture. Even though she is nine, she still acts like a puppy and loves to play. I wish I could see the world the way she sees it sometimes.

In this picture she is looking at the woods that are behind our house, watching the sun disappear into the trees. I am sure there was some kind of bird or animal moving around in the woods that she was so fixed on.

My wife just happened to be away running some errands. Short of her sitting next to me on the deck, this was a perfect night.

All too often we find ourselves rushing through life and we don't take the time to enjoy the moments like this. I turn 42 this year and though I hope to have many years ahead of me, I still struggle to remember to live in the moment.

With my diagnosis and battle with cancer a couple of months ago, I have chosen to make a conscious effort to drink in each of these moments as fully as I can.

Thanks for stopping in. Don't forget to stop and smell the roses (or watch the sunset) every now and then.

To quote the great Ferris Bueller: "Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it."

Many of my posts have been featured in The STEEMEngine and Steemrepair, check them out:

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-15T12:25:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 490.00/200.00
Total Photos: 68
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Sorry to hear of your cancer diagnosis !! You have the best medicine at your side, Jovi, still a playful puppy at age nine! Dave Barry's "Lessons from Lucy" has lots of great insights he attributes to spending time with his elderly dog. (Book is due out in June.) I wish you well!

Thanks! I appreciate it. I am in remission now but yes, she has been great by my side.

I love to stop on my walks with Nova and watching the sun set with her. Although she doesn’t really care for them and jut wants to keep walking. Your dog actually looks a bit like Nova from this angle but it’s probably just the black fur.

So sorry to hear about your diagnosis but I’m glad that you’re taking the time out each day to appreciate the small things like the sunset.

Thanks for sharing this lovely pic of Jovi

Thank you!

My dog is 'getting on' a bit at 6.5 now. He's starting to slow down, and is not so playful with other dogs as he was. Im not sure if I prefer the 'mad' dog or the 'older' dog.

I hear you, as much as I would love for her to slow down, I know it will be sad when she finally does. She really isn't bad when it is just my wife and I. When we have people over she goes nuts licking them to death and such. She is great around kids though if not desperate for affection. Like she never gets any... :P

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Even though she is nine, she still acts like a puppy and loves to play.

And what's so great about this.. they help keep us young too!

For sure!

This post has received a 7.05% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14