Camouflage

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

During one of my walks in nature, I encountered an unexpected observer while gathering sweet forest strawberries.

Almost imperceptibly, it stood on the tiny leaves and twigs, as it was just wanted to wait for a moment for me to make a decent image for Steemit.

20180601_095122.jpg

Two photos in a second, and a small "Lacerta viridis", which is in the Slovenian language is called "Navadni zelenec", has already escaped safely between the mountain of the greenery.

20180601_095127.jpg

As I later found on the web, it was most likely a female specimen of lizard, as the men's representatives are under the neck a distinctly blue color. Which, as you saw, wasn't.

Photos for @juliank's #animalphotography contest were made by me, and my Samsung A5.

Sort:  

Well spotted @emmamia. I'm not sure I would have see the lizard.

"gathering sweet forest strawberries" sounds like a wonderful thing to do. 😊

It was about 50cm away from my head, and I noticed it just by luck. :) About the strawberries... They were so delicious, so I and my coworkers pick them for my girls in a jar. So you can imagine their surprise, and smile when they saw a looot of sweet wild berries. :)

I've never had wild strawberries @emmamia but I've heard they are delicious. 😊

Ow, my... Really?! Then you should plan for the next May to visit Slovenia and you will most definitely have the chance.

I definitely want to visit Slovenia @emmamia. The photographs I've seen here make it look stunning.

Would you say May is the best time to visit?

I would have screamed!! lol......Very good camouflage - it always amazes me that animals and nature adapt to their environments for safety. Sometimes I wish I could turn color, wouldn't that be great if we could blend into our environment and kind of disappear in that moment? haha...I would like that.

Though we do act like chamaeleons to put a different skin on our emotions.

Exactly! Nature and animals go amazing with each other. Although I woildn't mind to dissapear sometimes.,😉

WOW! Now that IS a good camo job! She was almost unseeable, even when looking for her!!! Great shot!

😊 It was hard to see because the sun was shining so bright, and she was really almost unseeable.

Ohh, until you specified a lizard, I taught it was a snake.
Would have been proud to know a snake charmer

Not really. I prefer lizards over snakes. But I didn't have the chance to hold any of them in my head.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16