Hurry slowly

in #animalphotography6 years ago

In the garden or in nature we can see many different animals. Today I'll introduce to you the garden snail. Some of them have a house, but others don't. The most common snail is the large garden snail with the house.

Young snails have translucent houses. Because they don't protect them from the sun, they eat only at night. The older they are, the larger and the stronger their house is in yellowish color and is out of limestone. Sometimes it happens that the house, which is their home, is damaged. At that time, they use their master skills and correct it themselves, from the inside. If the sludge is left without a house, it dries up and dies.

20180529_095000.jpg

The snail is an unusual animal that has a single leg, eyes on the tips of their tentacles and as you already know it's moving very slowly. He moves with the mucus with which his leg is covered. It leaves behind a slimy luminous trace behind it. For the production of mucus, it needs water, which is why it is most commonly found in a humid environment.

20180529_095010.jpg

It's simultaneously male and female, that means it is a hermaphrodite. And because of that fact, I was really surprised when I saw those two making out. :) So I made two quick photos and left them back to their business. :)

Photos for @juliank's #animalphotography were made by me, and my Samsung A5.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-08T18:36:12
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 590.76/800.00
Total Photos: 87
Total comments: 42
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That would mean a double snack for every good French chef =)

We had some crazy weather in Slovenia today, "ice tennis balls" trashing roofs, plants and cars in Bela krajina. It's still nice to see, that some animals do enjoy it : )

Hehe... I agree... I think this year there are just too many snails around... But as long as they leave the garden alone they don't bother me. 😉

I saw it on the news what kind of weather there was. We were lucky, and despite the havy rain, there was not anything crucial.

eeewwwwww!!!!! Snails. Slimy gooey ..... we have a lot of them here as well. They live mostly in my hostas and by the end of the summer they've munched on them so much the edges turn brown. The kind we have here do the same with their snotty trail. And the shells are black and yellow striped.I don't think they are as big as the ones you've photographed though.

I think the species you are describing is also present here. But those seen on the photos are really bigger. If I am honest I don't mind any if they are having houses. But if they don't, then I agree with you - ewww. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85