King of Africa at Sunset

DSC05828.jpg

For one heart-stopping moment, this giant Simba was 7 feet away, had his eyes fixed upon me, and was walking right toward me in my open-sided safari vehicle. My pulse went through the roof, but I kept shooting with my silent-shutter, and at the last possible second, he turned aside and walked around our vehicle. This was in a private reserve adjacent to Masai Mara in Kenya. It's at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club, a fantastic place. I love African game viewing and have been at various places in Kenya and South Africa, but the Mara Safari Club was by far the best.

Sony A7rII, 70-400mm at 180mm and ISO 6400, f/6.3, 1/250th

Sort:  

That cool evening light is amazing!

This is a great photo! Such beautiful colors in the sky and lovely soft lighting. Very well captured!

Dude! This is amazing. When did you make this photo?

June 22, 2016

Thanks, man. Resteemed. :)

Thank you kindly, sir!

This is a stunning shot! I am afraid I would be shaking too much to get a photo up as close as you did!

This photo was taken about five minutes after the incident I described. We raced ahead of where he was walking and I directed the driver to a perfect broadside shot lined up with most intense part of sunset. There were a variety of reasons those photos (while he was so close walking toward me) didn't turn out--other safari vehicles in background, sunset not lined up properly, too wide-angle without enough telephoto, etc--though it would not surprise me to learn that shaking hands was another factor!

Woahh, this would be such an incredible experience. Great shot man!

If you ever get the chance to do a safari, I'd highly recommend it! I'm addicted! If you are in the US and want an experience much easier on the budget, I'd highly recommend Fossil Rim Wildlife Center near Dallas, TX: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1889453124663342.1073741829.1887648481510473&type=1&l=38a70202df

Nice! That looks awesome. If I'm ever in TX I'll definitely check it out!

Congratulations @hansmast! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-08T15:52:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Good thing you had a zoom lens 😁

Hehe, when I took this I was tele, but when the incident I described in the text occurred, I was at 24mm on 35mm sensor.

Congratulations @hansmast! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Beautiful colors and animal! Resteemed.

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34