animalphotography

DSCN0918_copy.jpg

Came across this old girl taking a nap. She was in such a deep sleep that even us getting right up to her to make sure she was OK did not wake her up. The herd she is part of, hangs around this area year round and we see them every couple of days. She is heavily pregnant at the moment, so we are looking forward to another cute calf in the not to distant future.

I often have people tell me that adult elephant can not lie down for any length of time as the weight of their bodies will crush their internal organs and they will die. Not sure where that comes from, but someone forgot to tell the elephant. We often come across large herds of 20 plus elephant where the majority will be lying down fast asleep for hours on end, especially in the wet season when there is plenty of food around.

All the photographs I post, are my own work & covered by copyright©

If you like my photographs, PLEASE

UPVOTE.gif

Sort:  

Sleeping Beauty...

There is nothing beautiful than nature

Stunning photography. It feels as if I am standing right next to the elephant.

Thank you. I appreciate your support and comment.

I like the way you portrait your shots.

it is so cool photography. maybe this elepent is sleeping....amazing

BEAUTIFUL WORK OF taking pictures of nature, I love to see and take pictures of that wonde

I did not know about their weight crushing their internal organs! But I just read they have to stand sleeping like horses!

Like I said in the post, some one forgot to tell the elephant they cant sleep lying down.

We people like inventing all sorts of theories, whereas animal life goes on as it always has... everyone likes to lie down once in a while :)
Beautiful pic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28