Puppy Love

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

puplove-3.jpg

puplove-4(crop).jpg

puplove-7.jpg


There was much in Varanasi that broke my heart, not the least of which being the numerous strays and their sad pups; the dogs there were the most undomesticated I've ever encountered.

Much like I imagine wild packs would behave, these dogs were territorial and actually quite terrifying at night – as though they owned the ancient city after sundown. I witnessed vicious dog fights almost daily...often what appeared to be disputes between feuding packs and aggressive males having their way with very distraught females.

As such, there were puppies everywhere – scrawny little creatures covered in fleas and sores soon after being born. I tried not to let it get to me, as evidence of human suffering was equally prevalent and my heart could only take so much.

Knowing I couldn't save them, I'd trained myself to just keep walking, but this lil' guy was hellbent on following me. He was in better shape than most and crushed me with those pleading eyes. I finally paused and gave him as much love as I could, wishing I could bring him back to the guest house with me, yet knowing that wasn't possible.

He was so sweet and photogenic, and didn't try to follow when I finally made to leave. Perhaps all he really needed was a little kindness and warm attention.

(yes....I'm wearing wool socks with flip-flops – I was thoroughly unprepared for how cold it would be and had no alternative footwear!)


camera: Canon EOS 5D Markii
lens: 35mmf1.4L Prime
specs: ISO 400 - f1.4 - 1/125 sec
date / location: 14 January 2010 / Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, India


copyright-dewdrops.jpg

DP-steemit-BNR.jpg

Sort:  

Such a sweet puppy. Now I understand why people from some parts of the world avoid dogs like the plague.

It's true – what I observed there was painfully eye-opening. And yet, this lil' fella was such a precious furball.

ooooh me lovvves. greece was like that, strays everywhere, and people would kick them. I had a really difficult time understanding that. tho maybe due to the fact they all had fleas. sadd,, feeds a puppy a cookie

Yeah...it was really hard on my heart, but I couldn't touch most of them. This is really gross, but many had open sores that actually had maggots in them. So.fucking.heartbreaking.

Awww beautiful pictures but my heart just broke a little snif.

You and I both! Such a sweet little, furry soul.

Such a cute little fella, and those imploring eyes...but he didn't follow you when you left? Maybe he looked down and noticed your footwear faux pas ;-)

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

You might be right, though he didn't trike me as being quite that judgie. ;)

It's tough, but we really can't save the whole world, yet one small step at a time will do already soo much :)

That's all we can do – just the little bit we're able to allay their suffering for a moment.

A little love at the right time :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-13T20:28:51
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1381.81/1600.00
Total Photos: 71
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 21
And have also received a 1.96 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Awwww! I know that little bit of love made that pup-pup happy. 💜
Great post and pictures!

Thank you! I do think he appreciated the little bit of attention I gave him. <3

Those eyes! So adorable this little guy. I can't blame you at all. At least he got a little bit if love!

Riiight?!? He destroyed me... <3

so cutedog_80_anim_gif[1].gif

Glad you agree!

That trustfulness and innocence in the face :) <3
Nice shots.

Thank you! Not sure why he chose to trust me, but, we did have a sweet little connection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71