A dead Pufferfish on my surf beach .......

in #animals5 years ago (edited)

It was quite a find to see one dead Pufferfish as I strolled along the beach this morning. Poor little fellow was beached so maybe it died from being out of the water for too long.

I work at being non- judgemental but this fish has to be one of the ugliest.

This bit of information is straight from Wikipedia just in case you are interest.
The Tetraodontidae are a family of primarily marine and estuarine fish of the order Tetraodontiformes. The family includes many familiar species which are variously called pufferfish, puffers, balloonfish, blowfish, blowies, bubblefish, globefish, swellfish, toadfish, toadies, honey toads, sugar toads, and sea squab.[1] They are morphologically similar to the closely related porcupinefish, which have large external spines (unlike the thinner, hidden spines of the Tetraodontidae, which are only visible when the fish has puffed up). The scientific name refers to the four large teeth, fused into an upper and lower plate, which are used for crushing the hard shells of crustaceans and mollusks, their natural prey.source

Be careful eating this fish because a majority of Pufferfish in the world are toxic. The best bet would be to go to Japan or China to eat Pufferfish specially trained chefs safely prepare them for delectable dishes. Or perhaps one can find Japanese or Chinese restaurants in different parts of the world to eat this delicacy.

Each to his own, I was happy to just take its photo and walk on.

Cheers and Blessings

_____________________________________



_______________________________________

______________________________________

Sort:  

Well, at least he died happy lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

He looks happy so I agree he must have, hahaha

I think there are plenty of other fish in the sea, and you won't find me racing off to find a restaurant that has pufferfish on the menu! I agree with you. Pretty ugly!

I am with on Melinda, I have no wish to even try it this fish! Plenty of other restaurants on my list.

Something fishy going on here 🤔 it’s too small fry to investigate and not worth making a stink about though

Posted using Partiko iOS

Maybe it died of old age?

lol! That is one ugly fish angiemitchell! I agree..I hope it tastes better than it looks!

I am not giving it a go janton, the looks turns me right off, haha.

Too ugly to eat! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74