We Found a Baby Today

in #animals5 years ago (edited)

Honestly, we were just going for a little walk to pick up something for dinner yesterday, but along the way, I spotted this little girl hiding under a shopping cart on the sidewalk.

After talking with a couple of neighbors there, we realized that she had been abandoned, and had been huddled underneath the cart, wide-eyed and starving, for the last 5 days.
3h0xohbnx5.png

So naturally, we couldn't just walk away; I picked her up and we headed to the store to buy her some kitten food and brought her home with us. You can see how skinny she is.
eux5zm8mm5.png

We let her finish eating, fed her, then took her to the vet/shelter to have her checked over. We were actually hoping to leave her there, but they no longer take animals; they gave her a shot, sprayed for fleas, and made an appointment with us for two weeks from yesterday to have her checked out again. This vet will take care of all the costs to vaccinate and spay/neuter any street dogs or cats; pretty amazing considering the vast amount of street animals here! They do it all there for whatever donation you care to give .
sndtaa6730.png

Here she is after her flea bath; pretty wiped out. The vet said she was maybe 6 weeks old and weighed only 600 grams!
1x1944zuex.png

She slept right through the night, and Brian and I said that was probably the best nights' sleep of her young life. This morning she had a little walk around the patio and then has been sleeping all day.
00fohagb2d.png

She's already stronger today; when I first picked her up off the street, she could barely lift her own head up.
agwpjopk5k.png

Here's a picture of her next to the planters, just so you can see how tiny she really is! but she really looks a million times better than she did yesterday.

t9xb9xo4e5.png

Tomorrow we introduce the "two of them", minus the plastic crate. So far, Buddy's not too happy with her, and in my mind, she's still a foster kitten, but who knows what the future will hold for us...Just look at her little eyes staring at Buddy. I think I'm doomed :)
mfon9ys5gv.png

Stay tuned for Part 2 tomorrow: Buddy and the wee Baby Girl meet in person :)

9ek8m6grgf.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I have heard that story before...we're only keeping this poor thing until we can find it a good home! Too late! It had already found one! LOL that is how we went from one dog to 5 and 4 cats!

hahahaha you know what you're talking about then @cecicastor!!! If it's anything like here, there's plenty of street cats and dogs to choose from! She's curled up beside me on the couch as I'm typing this, wrapped up in Brian's shirt.

Oh yeah, she's hear to stay :)

I love that you rescued this lil' one!!! I wouldn't be able to resist helping, either, even though I'm not a cat person.

I saw a hungry cat last winter so I gave him some sardines. Then he disappeared.

So so sweet of you to take care of him and he's already doing better!!!

Your pictures are so cute! I honestly hate the thought of any human or animal suffering.

Thanks for making the world a better place!

awww thank you so much @nomadicsoul! What a lovely comment :)

This little girl is doing so much better today; it's unbelievable really!

Thank you for making the world a better place too; that cat will never forget those sardines :)

@lynncoyle1,

Buddy looks like he's ready to eat her ... he eats everything else. I have to say, Lynn, that guy seems to have no culinary morals whatsoever. If it moves, it's lunch.

Just look at her little eyes staring at Buddy. I think I'm doomed

I think you're doomed too. Indeed, I would be willing to bet money on it.

Quill

Funny you say that Quill, because today, I caught Buddy licking her, somewhat frantically and I couldn't tell if they were love licks or if he was deciding whether or not she needed a little salt and pepper :)

I only make safe bets, so there's no way I'd make that bet with you ;)

@lynncoyle1,

Laughing my ass off. Buddy likes his condiments. Mayonnaise, perhaps?

Quill

Mayonesa is big with the locals, so you may be on to something there :)

You guys do so well by animals. I think it is amazing what the shelters do. There just isnt enough room to have all the strays yet they help the people that are willing to help. I think that is amazing, making it easier to foster. I think that kitten will grow on you. I see you in her for some reason. hopefully your other one will warm up to her. <3

awww thank you so much @foxyspirit! She's a fighter and a survivor and today, just so happy; she was running and playing with blowing leaves! It was so cute to see, and Buddy seems like he's going to cooperate as well :) Yesterday was all kinds of hissing, but today, he's been licking her ears and playing with her; always a good sign!

Aw that is so great! So now that it has been 6 days since I last talked to you (sorry, I have been icky sick), has that kitten stayed around? Has he adopted a name? :P

I'm sorry you've been sick! Yes, she's here to stay, although the early mornings make me realize why I had babies when I was younger ... I'm too old for this nonsense haha

I'm naming her Wolfie, after @wolfhart here. I wrote a post about it, but in a nutshell, he received a terrible health diagnosis the same day we rescued the cat. I figured she was a fighter and a survivor to have managed on the street being so young, and it's the same way I feel about him :)

She is definitely a survivor, I'm sure she's gonna be happy living with you!!

Thank you @joelai!! She sure is happier and looking better today :)

That's great!!

Awww, she looks so much better after having eaten and gotten a good night of sleep. That's so nice of you to take her in. Here's to hoping that she and Buddy get along well!

She seems like a different kitten today ... just so much more vibrant and happy. So far so good with Buddy too; I've got to watch him though, but yesterday was all kinds of hissing and today he was licking her ears ... I think being kind and not tasting to see if he "likes" her haha

That's fun that you get to see her come back right before your eyes. Yes, hopefully Buddy isn't checking to see if she'd be good with some salt and pepper. Ack!

hahaha he's been pretty good, but a couple of times, it looks like he's going in for the kill! But, he let her gently shove him aside to get to his food, so I think he'll be like any big brother ... he may pick on her, but he'll be a great protector too :)

Nice! It's always a big question.

This has nothing to do with your post, but I figured this is the easiest way to send you a link to this song. I was just listening to it and it made me think of you and @briancourteau.

That's really cool! Thank you from both of us :) Do you speak Spanish? Where did you find that song??

I'm glad you liked the song! I'm listening to it again while I reply and it makes me smile. It's one of those songs that makes me want to dance. :)

I know a little bit of Spanish. I don't understand it very well, but I can speak a small amount.

My wife and I were watching New Girl and they played it at the end of one of the episodes. I liked it, so I looked it up!

She looked a bit yellowish on the first day you took her home, what a difference some TLC overnight makes!

I totally agree! I was shocked when I looked back at the first photo, and today now, she seemed like a completely different kitten ... running around, playing with blowing leaves, just so vibrant! Thank you @livinguktaiwan :)

Well.. and? What did you guys name your new cat?
(Self - come back in 9 minutes)

edit good job self!

Good job on returning buddy :)

Once I name her, she's totally mine, so now, she's known as Baby Girl, and still a foster kitten :)

Who am I kidding ??! :)

Watcha think of Marina? You guys have that tile work with the dolphins at the entrance. You know, like a Marina.

😉

awww that's sweet @dandays ...it's going on my list! :) Thank you!!

ok @dandays, this one's a tear jerker, but here's my explanation for naming her Wolfie :)

You didn’t think it got passed me did you?

F37C68A7-BA07-4967-B332-65618916A3C2.jpeg

That's enough to melt your heart and I'm not a big cat person!

awww thank you @minismallholding! I always used to be a dog person, then Brian gave me Buddy for my birthday a couple of years ago, and I've fallen in love with cats :) (I still love dogs too though:)

Can't wait to see the first meet in person 😄 hope that Buddy won't play with the long cute black tail☺

hahaha @cicisaja! Buddy spent yesterday hissing at the poor little thing, but today, he's much more loving. I took a bunch of pictures and will try to get a post out tomorrow, but it was pretty cute :)

I think that he would teach the kitten how to relax after hunting the snakes or baby g somewhere around the new palapa roof 😂

hahaha I can just imagine the two of them sleeping, sprawled out on their backs, side by side :)

There will be another "cute post" have you named her? Betty😂 I teally want to see how Buddy trains the newbie😅

I just wrote a post explaining "why", but I named her Wolfie, after wolfhart <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79