Is this the most powerful speech on why veganism is the future?

in #animals5 years ago

Philip Wollen addresses the St James Ethics and the Wheeler Centre debate.

SRC

The speech in the video below is one of the most powerful speeches I have ever heard. I have listened to this many times and the emotion in Mr Wollens voice speaks volumes. Philip Wollen is an Australian philanthropist, animal rights activist, and Citibank’s former vice president. He was a titan of industry and now devotes his time to Winsome Constance Kindness Trust The trust works to "promote kindness towards all other living beings and enshrine it as a recognisable trait in the Australian character and culture.” SRC. I would also like to thank @kenistyles for reminding me about this speech. For many people the idea of seeing undercover animal ag footage to be extreme or somehow propaganda for "the Vegan machine." How factual information can be seen as propaganda is beyond me yet this is a word that is thrown around in an attempt to discredit the footage or the people who risk their own health or even lives to attain it.

How can we as a species think that what we are doing is the right way to go? How can we believe that this wholesale slaughter of billions of sentient, emotionally evolved creatures is in anyway just or proper? Poorer nations in this world are under the foot of our greed, we in first world nations purchase grain and destroy habitat in order to feed cows so we can in-trun eat them. Our greed and false belief that we must eat meat to be healthy is simply a lie. A lie perpetrated by powerful industry and who are so short-sighted in their greed that they refuse to see that their actions are destroying all life. We as a species are not just confining the murder to animals, people who speak up have been targeted by these same industries and silenced by threat or indeed murdered. I could go on and on here but I feel that Mr wollen says it far better than I can.

If you are looking to know more about taking an ethical turn in your lifestyle this short speech may just be the key to open that door. Every year there is an initiative that occurs the world over. This is called Veganuary, the project there is one that has served over 250,000 people. My door is always open to people who want to discuss their desire to reduce the harm that their lifestyle choices cause. I will not judge, that is not my thing. I was a corpse muncher for the majority of my life.You can find out more about Veganuary here.

So that's all for now folks, hit that follow button for helpful tools, Vegan recipes and thoughts, average poetry, comedy and random musings. This is a glimpse inside the mind of a moonunit.

Oh one last thing, I have set up my witness node over on whaleshares. This node ads to the numbers currently supporting the whaleshares blockchain. Without witness nodes there would be no whaleshares to post on or make money off. Witnesses count on your votes so if you could spare a vote for me I would really appreciate it. You can vote for my witness here https://whaleshares.io/~witnesses I am in the list but you can also go to the bottom of the page and type in moonunit and click "share". You can read my witness post HERE!

I could not have set up my witness node without the help of a good friend @ijmmai. Jamie has a witness too and I would love if you could give her a vote also. Jamie works pretty much nonstop in the the official discord channel and is always there to help people out. Jamies witness is called @ijmmaiwitness if anyone on the platform deserves a vote it is her. :peace_symbol:

All images unless otherwise sourced and noted as such are my own. Sourced images are clickable to show their source. My own images are typically taken with my Galaxy S9. App, and website logos belong to their respective owners and I have permission to use.

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

Hit that....Follow button!


If you are interested in our vegan curation please use the #thatveganwhale and follow @that-vegan-whale. Over on whaleshares, we are doing our best to get the whale to Steemit too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75