AN IMPRESSIVE DEER POPULATION

in #animals6 years ago

Even with hunting and getting hit by cars, there are a ton of these around!


In Arkansas, a $25 USD annual hunting licence comes with six deer tags, which means that each hunter has the potential to legally harvest six deer each year, if they are able to and want to. Yes, that may seem like a lot, but I guess the Game & Fish Commission has their reasons.

Personally, I never went deer hunting until I moved to Arkansas, so two years ago was my first time. Over the past two years, I managed to fire five shots during the hunting seasons, and harvested five deer. The photo above is of my first deer ever.

CHECK THESE DEER OUT!

While taking a drive the other evening with Monster Truck, he mentioned that he saw some deer in a nearby field. When I looked over there, I was amazed! There were nine bucks standing the field together. If It was season, I would have gladly tried to harvest five and left the other four. Of course they wouldn't all be running together out in the open during hunting season...

Anyway, I was impressed that will all the deer that are hunted each year, and all the deer that get hit by cars, there is still so many nice, big bucks in the area. These photos are grainy because it was getting dark, but I think you'll be able to see the bucks.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-deer

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I HoPe I can taste deer meat someday. They say it is the meat of kings.

I HoPe I can taste
Deer meat someday. They say it
Is the meat of kings.

                 - darthnava


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

We really enjoy it! It's tasty for sure!

5 shots 5 deer pretty damn good brother. Nice deer by the way. We've got some monster swamp donkeys down where I'm at. I've seen some bruisers late night travelling home that had so much garbage on there head that they looked like something out of Greek Mythology. Have you tried bow hunting? Pick yourself up an old Ben Pearson or Bear traditional bow off Ebay or a flea markets better and start practicing. Just target shooting is a blast then try hunting. I'd say stay away from compound and learn traditional shooting like Robin of the hood but either way much more satisfying............. Really enjoyed the post!

The food just walking around your house!....:)...

I never try to point a gun into a living creature to take its life. I usually point it on the non-moving bottle of wine then squeeze the trigger. I don't know I just love to eat meat but never try to slaughter one. But hunting is one on my bucket list.

Love venison! Great meat and if you can fill a freezer for the winter for free...Even better! Amazing that deer just know when it is hunting season and you don't see large groups of deer grazing in the open. I don't think I have ever seen a large group of bucks like this.

This was my first time seeing so many bucks together. When they are still in velvet, before the rut, is I guess when it happens.

Those bucks do look good.....
So do people abide by the rules of not harvesting more than 6 bucks a year what if they harvest more??

Pouching is always a problem, but I think most people do things right.

And when Monster Truck the Pepper can handle a 30-06 that will be 10 tags.
Better make sure to make room for deep chest freezers near your root cellar.

Better make sure to make room for deep chest freezers near your root cellar.

Interesting... I was just thinking about putting one in there!

deer are pretty prolific, they only live on average 2 years in the wild even though they can live 9 years, the shortage is of hunters.

They look really wild but friendly..thanks @papa-pepper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87