ANOTHER NIGHT, ANOTHER OPOSSUM

in #animals5 years ago

Out in the country, or even in the city, Opossums are just a part of life.


We like to be proactive around here, which includes having a few traps set and baited round our property. With would-be predators like Opossums and Raccoons on the prowl nightly (at least somewhere out there), some periodically show up on our property.

CUTE, BUT NOT EXACTLY FRIENDLY...

Last night, we caught another one. Despite them looking like a white-faced rat with a grin full of pointy teeth, I still think that they are cute. Some seem rather "friendly," but to them, we are the predators, and they have every right to react out of fear when people encounter them.

Since I have always enjoyed wild animals, and since my @little-peppers are my children, we get a lot of opportunity to check out various animals first hand and for me to teach my little ones about the wild animals all around them. A while ago, I made a quick informational video about some interesting Opossum facts, so I'll include it here as well in case anyone is interested.

For us, we'd rather trap one ahead of time than have them kill any of our poultry, which, unfortunately, has happened before. So, do you think Opossums are cute, or do they look like evil rats to you?

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

My First Book Available is Here!

Sort:  

In Australia, they have protected the opossum, in NZ, they have opossum shoots and poisonings.
I think it is a different animal to yours, but ours gets into the forests and ears the eggs and chickens of the birds, in places wiping them out.
They take no prisoners if cornered, and their teeth are very sharp.

I despise the varmints. Growing up in the hills of eastern Kentucky it was a tossup whether them, the coons, or the crows were the biggest pest.

My Father brought one home one day when we were kids, and man those things have TEETH 🦷 !! We were so
Happy when it somehow escaped the next day.
😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't think we have them here in the great white northwest. I know we had the occasional one in central California but I have yet to see or hear of one around my parts now. They may just be few and far between here, not like the apparent scourge you get to deal with. Maybe that's just where they all went, south to warmer lives and into your hands?

Dude Haha yes, love the info in the video thanks. I remember those guys in Arkansas being everywhere. We got them here in cali too but I remember Arkansas the most. Thanks brother super cool vibes.
Be well

Cool man. Glad that you liked it! How's the weather over there? We've been cold and wet.

Lately it's been bout the same here. Alot of rain and alot of snow up on the mountain range. Super happy about that so we are not in a drought.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww it’s kinda cute though and just following it’s natural instincts... thanks for another cool video with these guys. 😎🦋🌴🌈💛

They are cute rats with evil intentions

Have you had problems with them killing poultry? We've had them here in New England for decades, and they've never offered to bother any of our birds...

They are a varmint and should be gotten rid of. They are basically, just an overgrown rat and reproduce like crazy. Rodents kill a huge number of people ever year by carrying disease and eating food supplies. In India, where foolish beliefs cause locals not to kill rats and mice, millions have died. Rats and mice destroy up to 25% of the food, and then when a famine hits, millions go hungry and die. Rodents, can eat the seeds people where planning to plant, eat the crops in the field and destroy crops in storage. Did you know there are actually regulations on the amount of fecal matter permitted in spices? I do not think it is appropriate to call these rodents "cute." They need to be eliminated as quickly as possible. Calling these animals "cute," makes people feel bad about killing them. We should not feel bad about killing them, they are wretched creatures.

I love opossum. I work in a grocery store (pretty large chain, but small town location) and we had one get in overnight once. It was clearly a baby and ran by my feet. We have a major tick problem around here so I am happy to have their help with that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97