SNAKE ATTACK AND THE DISAPPEARING QUAIL

in #animals6 years ago

Now THAT was an exciting phone call!


This morning @mama-pepper called me with an important update: quail were gone and a snake was in the cage! Soon, I was racing over to help. Here is the video that I shot.

THE VIDEO

THE PHOTOS

It's not exactly what you want to hear in the morning, since losing some livestock or animals is never fun, but at least we caught it right away. Trust me, this thing had just eaten this quail and may have had an appetite for more. If we would have found it later in the day, it may have eaten two or three of our quail by then.

We watched it "swallow" the quail for a while too. It kinks its neck and uses that to force the quail further into its body. I show some footage of this in the video, but you can see it in the photo above too. Also, if you looks near the "S" in the snakes neck, you can see how loose the skin around it still is.

Thankfully, once a snake swallows something bigger than it's girth, it becomes trapped in the cage. Whether the snake finds some chicken eggs or some quail, once they swallow them, they are trapped. It was sad for us to lose the quail, but it is part of reality and part of the food chain. Down on our land we plan on building a quail coop out of just hardware cloth, which will prevent this from happening.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-quail-hiding-inside-a-snake

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

It is a little sad story.
At least you guys will do more precautions to avoid that.
Understanding is the best remedy.
Again sad, sad I have to say.
Keep on postin'

Glad you caught this one before he had a larger meal of two or three quail...
This is sad though because you have lost one of the quail. Soon you will be on the land and this sort of thing won't happen again.

That's right! We'll get things right down on our own land!

Hi @cecicastor. I Have been reading your last few posts. I hope baby and all of you are staying well. Our blessings and thoughts are with you always Ceci. Love and Peace Nicaragua ❤️🌈🌴

Things are really degrading here. They have found two mass graves in the last couple of days. We are looking for a way out. The quicker the better but CR is really too expensive for a family of 5 on a tight budget. I will be posting photos of the baby soon.

@cecicastor. I have a good friend Rising Sun who is always looking for people to move in and help him run his homestead. You would just do homesteading chores for your bed and board.

That would work for some of the adults but for my daughter-in-law, the princess, that is a different story. She won't even visit me at mine! My granddaughter, on the other hand, loves it...go figure! Thanks for the suggestion. We will consider it while we are planning.

I understand And am glad that even despite the present situation there is adequate space for all such considerations. If I can help in any way please drop me a message. My thoughts arewith you all❤️🦋🌈💛

Thank you, @sallybeth23. I appreciate it. We need to take enough time so that we don't end up going from the frying pan into the fire. We have a lot to consider because we have a child with us.

I couldn’t agree more 😉 excuse us chatting in your comments @papa-pepper but dearest @cecicastor is living in a literal WARZONE in Nicaragua right now and is hard to keep a close eye on and we fear for her safety. ❤️🌴💛🦋🌈

This post was upvoted by @steemybot, Send at least 0.01 STEEM or SBD and get an upvote. Join my discord server for a free upvote for each post.

@steemybot our mission is to support high quality posts which raise the profile and value of the STEEM Blockchain.

That snake seems sleek, I would die just looking at the scaly skin, well seems the belly of the snake seems too heavy, is that why it seemed a bit sluggish?

Just trying to enjoy its meal and swallow his food, that's all.

REALLY extraordinary!
Wow, this is life...
Life is messy ;-)

@mama-pepper is very brave congratulations, I was screaming everywhere, the snakes are the animals that do not enjoy my pleasure, I run with fear, by chance I enter one to our office a few days ago, from there, it is difficult for me to concentrate and put my feet on the ground (I feel that I could be there), they say that these animals are accompanied, so please be careful.

Oh my land, that would give me a heart attack. :D Great job getting it out and wonderful work on the part of your children holding it. I don't think I would have been willing to hold it like they did, they are definitely braver than I was at their ages. :D
God bless you and the whole pepper clan. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

That sucks that you lost a quail, but at least it didn't get more of them. If you relocated the snakes, are they able to track their way back to your place if they know there are good eats there?

Snakes can only realistically travel so many miles, so if I take it thirty miles away when I go to town and drop it off on the outskirts, I don't think it'll ever be back over here.

I figured that was the case, but wasn't sure. Maybe paint a marking on it so that you'll be able to tell if he comes back.

Ya entiendo el porqué su nivel de 77
Demasiada originalidad... El fundamento principal de steemit.
Saludos desde Venezuela. La tierra que está sufriendo dolores de parto y que pronto renacerá y seremos grandes de nuevo.

Que bueno que la hallan conseguido porque se hubiese comido todas las codornices, y se ponen como elásticas al tragarse a sus víctimas.
It's good that they found it because they had eaten all the quails, and they put themselves as elastic to swallow their victims.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13