Asian Small-Clawed Otter

in #animals5 years ago

The Asian small-clawed otter is found throughout southeast Asia, as well as the southern tip of India. They have adapted to living in a variety of diverse wetland habitats like small streams, marshes and and mangrove swamps. Mostly nocturnal, these otters spend the night hunting for crabs and small fish, then return to shelter along riverbanks during the day.

These otters mate for life, and maintain strong family units that stick together. A dominant pair typically have litters of 4 or 5 cubs, and both parents are actively involved in feeding and protecting the young. Since they can have several litters each year, the family will quickly swell in size, until the grown children leave the group to pair off on their own.

Unlike other otter species, the small-clawed otter uses its paws to catch food, instead of its mouth. They also posses a special valve in their ear canal, that allows them to completely shut their ears when swimming underwater.
The species are commonly killed for their warm and waterproof pelts. Their organs are also believed to cure a variety of illnesses, which has put additional pressure on populations, in addition to widespread habitat destruction and the pollution of waterways throughout the region.

Sort:  

I really like otters but I dont know if I've ever actually seen one in the wild myself. I didn't know that they catch their prey with their hands instead of their mouths. That's pretty interesting to me

Posted using Partiko Android

I've always had an affinity for otters, they are just about the cutest things. Even cuter than my dog I dare to say. Thanks for sharing this great post and bringing a smile to my face.

Posted using Partiko Android

Otters! Wow there so much that I didn't know about them. I've heard that some species of otters can be very territorial and aggressive. I didn't know that they also mate for life. Very interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cute. we have otters around Seattle that hold hands while swimming on their backs. this species is different.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good post! Cute animals)

There are a lot of otters where I originally come from, which is from the northwest (Oregon). But I'm surprised to see the Asian otter it looks a little different then what I'm used to. Thank you for the great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87