Interesting Cattle Country

in #animals5 years ago

While traveling one day last fall I got lost which isn't anything new for me. I always say that I get lost in my own back yard. But this time I was glad that I got lost because I ended up in the country with beautiful scenery.

When I saw this statue I just thought that it wasn't painted because there is no such thing as all white cattle, but you will see the proof below in one of these photos that they do exist. Knowing nothing, nada, zilch about cattle I had to do some research and this appears to be White Shorthorn with other names such as Whitebred Shorthorn and Cumberland White. This cattle breed originated over 100 years ago in Northwest England and Southwest Scotland. The bulls of this breed were used to mate with females of the Galloway to produce the Bluegrey cattle, which were fast maturing and their beef was valued highly. Today, the Whitebred Shorthorn, or White Shorthorn are raised for their meat. You can see just by looking at this stature that this is a strong and hardy breed.

Right across the street I found this antique looking plow. Again, after researching I found out that this is an antique horse drawn sickle mower to cut down high grasses.

I hope you don't get lost but if you do, I hope that it will be a fun learning experience for you just like it was for me. Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: thedairysite.com, whitebredshorthorn.com, roysfarm.com

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

The greatest thing about being lost is what you find! And one of the many great things about you is the joy and enthusiasm that you greet the experiences with. 🤗

Thanks for the info about Whitebred Shorthorn and White Shorthorn. I didn't expect to learn anything about cattle today. :^)

You are the sweetest brisby! I think it would be so much fun if you and I got lost together. : )

I never expected to learn about cattle that day either. LOL!

What beautiful photographs of such
a wonderful area! Those are cool
white cattle! Herded some white
Charolais cattle ages ago.
This looks like a awesome place to
get lost in!

How interesting that you herded white cattle. It was a beautiful place. : )
Speaking of white...more of that crap on the way Friday. I haven't posted in days because I slipped on the snow and ice and pulled muscles in my left leg and knee. Couldn't bend it or put any weight on it. The pain is real!!! Spring sure is coming in like a lion. AARRGGGHHHHHH!!!

They definitely do exist @whatisnew beautiful creatures too shame they get treated so poorly, also sorry to hear about your fall please be extra careful around that snow thank goodness spring is on it's way.

They are beautiful and unique.
Thanks for caring about me @simonjay. I am slowly getting better. 2 years ago after cleaning the snow off of my elderly ladies SUV, I fell on the ice and fractured my wrist. Thank goodness I didn't break anything this time. And yes, thank goodness spring will be here very soon. YAY!

Lot a bull through out this post ... lol

HaHa! Good one Mike! LOL!

WOW! Interesting cattle country with a lot of black and "white" cattle! I haven't ever seen the white one before. Thanks for providing more details about it.

The scenery is also beautiful with green grass and green trees! These look refreshing.

The antique plow is amazing!

Yeah! It's a fun learning experience indeed. Thanks for sharing. ;)

Yay! I got a big WOW from you! We learned about the white cattle together. Glad you enjoyed the scenery sis and thanks for your kind comments. HUGS!

With my pleasure, my dear sis! A lot of LOVE! ;))

I loved your pictures, as usual... show me green, show me an animal and I'm happy.
The sickle mower reminded me of the way my brother used to cut our front yard grass when I was a child. We had no mower, no tractor. He would take a cickle to the grass until it was short enough so that at least we could see the snakes:))

Green and animals make me very happy too. : )
No mower or tractor? Well at least you something...to see the snakes? OMG! I would have never walked on your grass!!! Slither...hiss!

We were hicks, through and through. And not the rich sort. Wish I had a picture of the 'picnic' table my brother made, of rough-hewn wood. He did grow up to have his own construction business though, so I guess the practice came in handy:)

Hicks? OMG! You got me laughing. Oh, I wish you had a picture of the picnic table too. I bet your brother has one and thinks about it often with happy memories. He might even say to himself, "Look at me now!" : )

Not likely he has a picture--no camera 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85