Fabricated Films: "I Am a Flamingo" Production Photos - Puppets Pt.2

in #animation6 years ago

Hey Steemers!

Here's part two of my puppet creation process for "I Am a Flamingo." If you missed part one where I discussed the process I used to build Mingo, the Flamingo, here's a link to it:

https://steemit.com/animation/@tysonjames/fabricated-films-i-am-a-flamingo-production-photos-puppets-pt-1

Let's begin! Here is Allie:

Allie_Promo.jpg

Step 01: The Design

She started out as a gorilla...and honestly, I just couldn't come up with a design that seemed feasible to turn into a puppet. When designing for stop motion, you have to take into account a lot of different technical factors: How is the character going to talk? How is it going to move? How is going to be built? What is it going to be built out of? Etc. I just couldn't visualize a design that I liked and seemed technically achievable at the time. So I explored other characters that could just as easily compliment Mingo.

IMG_9374.JPG

IMG_9376.JPG

The first sketches of Allie weren't particularly cute, but I liked the possibilities a lot more than what I had worked out with the gorilla.

IMG_9507.JPG

IMG_9227.JPG

This was the design I settled on for Allie:

AlliTheGator.jpg

Step 02: The Sculpt

Barney Marquez was also responsible for this sculpt. It took a little longer to figure out her design, because I also didn't do a turnaround for her. There was a lot to figure out in 3D space that was not there in the drawings. I think the sculpt was pretty successful.

IMG_6030.jpg

We planned to mold Allie's main body as one part, and her arms and tail as separate. This is why there are dividing lines around her arms and tail.

IMG_6241.jpg

Step 03: The Mold

The armature wire keeps the sculpt centered within the soon-to-be mold, while also creating the pour spouts and air vents for the actual casting portion.

IMG_6435.jpg

IMG_6431.jpg

The character was molded in clear silicone, to help see the inside of the mold when injecting with dragon skin silicone.

IMG_6634.jpg

Step 04: Armature

The armature was made out of aluminum wire, and 3 hard parts used for gripping the character.

IMG_6560.jpg

IMG_6561.jpg

Making sure the armature fits into the mold -- not an easy thing to do when you skipped out on doing proper character turn arounds.

IMG_6651.jpg

I glued nylon to the hard parts to help the silicone stick to the armature.

IMG_6665.jpg

Step 05: Casting

The arms ready to be cast -- armature is locked in place.

IMG_6653.jpg

A successful casting of the tail, you can see the colored silicone flowed throughout the entire cavity.

IMG_6659.jpg

Here is a video of the silicone setting up in Allie's body mold. I think this silicone had a 1hr cure time?

Taking Allie out of the mold that was made out of 3 parts, due to the complexity of her shape:

IMG_6681.jpg

Fresh out of the mold. Because Allie is made out of silicone, it had to be colored before being cast. Multiple colors meant that the secondary color (tan) had to be painted into the mold, prior to filling it with green.

IMG_6829.jpg

Step 06: Detailing

Several Allie's being tested on. It was my first time painting with silicone, so I needed some testers for practice:

IMG_6833.jpg

I used a sponge-texture technique, to apply color variation to the skin. Eyelids were vacuum formed and airbrushed:

IMG_6898.jpg

Here she is camera ready! Those threaded rods coming out of her legs and tail are for her tie-down access, which keeps her from falling over during animation.

IMG_7051.jpg

And there you have the puppet process! If you have any questions feel free to ask.

Thanks for peepin!

Sort:  

Very cool character. So many things to think about for making her come to life.

So the jaw is a wire frame that you move for speaking? How do you sync up the actors voice to the movement of the mouth? Do you have the voice over already recorded so you can listen to it when you are shooting to pace it or are you just following the script and the voice over is synced up in editing or with some type of ADR?

Yeah the wire in the jaw allows for her mouth to be animated. Usually dialogue or sounds are recorded first, and then animated to match that. Here's an example of an audio track:

Audio_Workspace.png

Each number above the wave file represents a frame. The images give us a preview of what it will look like when being played back in real time (sock monkey is just the example image).

Thanks for the explanation. This is very interesting!

Amazing @tysonjames lot of engineering work :P . You deserved a curie vote :)

Thank you so much! It’s big upvotes like that that really make these long-form production posts worthwhile. I appreciate the support and hope you enjoy future behind-the-scenes posts. :)

really great work again Tyson, just love all the characters, so adorable... and really cool to see what went into the process of creating "Allie the Alligator". Part 1 with "Mingo the Flamingo" 's "process" was terrific too! :) lol

Whoa love this behind the scences look! Very informative! Upvoted :)

Thanks Crystal! I think we met briefly on discord last night? Anyways, thanks for taking a peek, I appreciate it. :D

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Wow, this is pretty and incredible. Thanks for the breakdown.

No problem! I appreciate the support.

Happy to see you were discovered by curie. It is well deserved. I hope it will motivate you to show us even more cool stuff. What a great character, sculpt and process photos. I need to start ordering transparent silicone for my molds, It looks like it would help in many models where I could see if the resin flows correctly into cavities.

Thanks Mitch! "Sorta Clear" by Smooth-On is good stuff (platinum cure). Definitely helpful in a lot of instances where material flow needs to be seen.

I've got a bunch of project stuff to show, so there won't be any shortage of content for a while!

Wow super neat! So much work for such a little guy!

And a very educational and interesting puppet process it was :) And Allie is kinda cute even if I can't work out whether she's a crocodile or a lizard XD

Didn't realise model turnarounds were important for making moulds as well as for the sculpts, but thinking about it after reading this it suddenly makes very obvious sense!

goatsig

Thanks! Yeah character turnarounds are incredibly valuable for sculptures especially.

This is just flat out amazing. I love that you documented all the steps in this process, and seeing Allie come to life from sketch to painted model was so enjoyable. Of course it helps that Allie is so darn cute :)

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Hi Carl, thanks for the kind words. I've got years worth of projects that I'm eager to show with the community, so I'm glad my work has been so well recieved here. I would absolutely love to be featured on an Author Showcase post -- count me in.

Something I would like to mention is that I'll be releasing the film in about a week or so, so if @curie wants to hold off until that post happens, it might make for a better showcase piece. Either is fine, but if you're interested I can update you when the release happens (hoping by February 2nd).

Thanks again for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23