Animation | 10 Moments Found Being an Animator

in #animation6 years ago (edited)


I've posted something like this before a few months back but it doesn't hurt to post something similar to this again. Why? Because it's fun and I'm planning to enjoy my weekend so I thought this would be something light and easy for you guys to read as well. Well, I've been slumped with work for three weeks now and I'm glad that the movie that I'm animating is FINALLY DONE. My part is done that is, fingerscrossed the client doesn't come back and decides to change everything that I've animated. Yes, they do that A LOT.

Since I've been spending A LOT of my time these past few weeks as an animator in my office, I thought maybe I could shed some light on the life that revolves around it. This is...

10 Moments Of An Animator


1. When the software you're using beeps ahead of crashing.



Yeaps! Everytime the office light flickers, we would all shout 'SAVE SAVE'. Imagine hours of work just gone in the drain just like that and the boss wonders why you never get work done.

2. Getting a Job as an animator but you have to do layout as well.



You become multitalented for learning a new skill with the boss breathing down your neck for something you didn't even sign up for. But we still accept the job because there's only so many job position in Malaysia.

3. When boss offers to buy everyone dinner.



You know that he's up to something. Probably wants you to burn the midnight oil. My boss even gets us ice cream in the afternoon for tea break and we know that we have to stay back late tonight.

4. When clients asked for something illogical.



I'm not sure whether they have fantasized these sort of things when they were younger and now that they hire people to do it for them or they just think it's going be a smash hit viral sort of thing.

5. When people think your job is cool.



I had to put this in the 10 Moments again because whenever I tell people I'm an animator, they go like 'wow cool'. I make cartoons for kids to watch. Wow cool... Well, watching the cartoon and creating it is two very different experience and feeling.

6. When clients suddenly think your previous versions are better.



I've experienced doing several other versions of animation only to have client choose the first version. With those countless hours and days to create several other animations gone to waste.

7. Starting out your first animation job.



It is the BEST feeling in the world when you're all eager to get yourself involve in this industry. Ohhh poor naiveee zord... little does he know what awaits behind those studio's doors.

8. 5 years down the road.


 


You start searching for new jobs on job sites and realizing that OH MY GOSH... animation is all that you know to do. You realized that you'll have to start all over from scratch if you were to change industry. You're stuck here buddy.

9. IF you manage to find a side job, it's mostly direct sales/MLM.



You suddenly figured out that the best chance to have a go at life is to start your own business. So you got introduced to a product company and sign up to be their agent. I mean why not? They provide business and sales training for you and get you to dance on stages with hundred over agents with you and they tell you that 'you can do it' or something like 'insanity is doing the same thing and expecting a different result', so on so forth. But if you really do make it, you'll be rich (something we as animators don't get to be).

10. Or you find something as awesome as Steemit.



 

I think Steemit is the best thing that have ever happened to me. I get to earn side income while I blog, meet new friends, engage and go for meetups and it isn't an obligation to do anything on here. But I WANT TO! Steemit has become my passion and a stress reliever for my after work hours and I look forward to reading blogs and talking to friends everyday. So to the sucky rate that Steem is at now and to the future of Steemit, I'll say, Steem on!~

All GIFs are taken from www.giphy.com

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

DQmSqueeD2Az1he74iEMgj9jEAFHoQCfwkp99qDWB1q2Vxy_1680x8400.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2018/09/15/animation-10-moments-found-being-an-animator/

Sort:  

Save - Save yes much the same where I live, plus exceptionally slow connection @zord189 I hear your anger/frustration loud and clear.

No knowledge is ever lost, nor goes out of fashion, it takes some additional learning, implementing and off you will go again in your line of graphics.

Looking forward to crypto stabilizing a bit to enable slightly better earnings, in the mean time get to know new friends here, when it does stabilize everything will fall into place.

#steemitbloggers

Yeaps, hope everything stabilizes to at at least 1 usd.

So funny! Working with clients can be frustrating sometimes but that's how the best stories are born :) Thank you for sharing your experience in this industry!

Hehe, glad you enjoyed it! Trueee! Btw, good to have you join us in @steemitbloggers. Gave u a follow :)

Thank you, I follow you too :) I am really happy to be a part of this amazing community! I learn so much!

Hehe that's awesome! Happy to have you too!

Hello @zord189, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you again for the support!~

Hello arfff yes that is true it sounds so cool when you say you are an animator...I guess every job as the good an the bad side. I'm lucky to always have work, and if im not happy i can find an other work easily because it is busy industrys with high demand. You can learn something new at anytime and changr career;)

Ohhh that's good. I'm looking for other jobs that pays better and probably have better future prospect. Don't want to be working for the boss to only have him buy a new car or house and I'm still here.

This is so funny to read, but makes me so anxious of this industry. Your post reminds me of thisadvertisinglife, which I enjoyed so much a few years ago, even if I had no clue about advertising^^

Oh wow! Ur a 3D artist as well!!! Hahaha, ur works are amazing! Love your modeling btw. :) What are ur main softwares?

Thank you so much:) I mostly use Blender and ZBrush. I started out with 3Ds Max and then later Maya learning how to rigg and animate, but I switched to Blender and think I would have to watch a tutorial to be comfortable with it again. What do you use? I thought about learning C4D, had a crash course once and it is mostly required here in Germany.

Ohhh I use Maya because it's the main software for my animation work. I used to be a generalist. Know a bit of c4d, adobe softwares, zbrush. c4d is good for mograph. A lot of easy presets. Maya is only better for rigs and animation.

Yeah, that‘s true. Maya is pretty good in that, I just did‘t use it anymore after my student license expired and then I switched to Blender and you just get used to certain softwares. I still have to learn a lot:)

Ahhh, yeaaa Maya is VERY pricey... Blender is free which is awesome.

Ahaha, this is a very funny and witty ))) Thank you, I really got to know about the work of the animator a bit more)

Haha thanks :D

howdy sir zord189! wow this was such a great look into your daily life as an animator, now I'm very thankful for steemit for you as well! if all goes good and prices rise and steemit makes it long term you can do it full time.
wonderful post!

Thanks @janton and I can't wait for the day steem prices soar again. at least to 3 usd I'm happy.

I think we all can relate to the first gif....

I had worked in so many things in this life that I can make a fricking encyclopedia.... 😅

The first GIF as in the stickman ripping his clothes off after work? Hahahah

I was laughing from start to end 🤣 Thanks for sharing the insights of your world... I still think it's cool ..

And you used gif for all your images... How in the world did you do it. I still could not figure it out

Haha I'm glad you enjoyed the post. That was the whole point of it anyway, to make ppl laugh.

Steem on my friend, very good describe some moments of an animator, but the last one is my fev. 😉
you are not a very talented animator you are very helpful and good writer also. love your style and god bless you my friend.

Thank you @ykdesign. You are always so supportive <3

most welcome zord, I would be happy if could do something for you my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34